Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Domain name instead of hostname

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by eZweblogic, Oct 29, 2012.

  1. eZweblogic

    eZweblogic Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi Guys,

    I just moved a website from a Cpanel server to my own WHM/Cpanel server. Everything looks fine but I realized that on the newly created account when I login to Cpanel I see the domain name like this

    /https://domain.com:2083/cpsess4821663856/frontend/x3/index.html

    while on all other accounts I see the hostname like this

    /https://host.name.com:2083/cpsess4821663856/frontend/x3/index.html

    My question is how to make all other accounts login to cpanel while showing their own domain name instead of the server's hostname.

    It's not something important but it looks nicer if all domains show their own domain names in the address bar when logging in to Cpanel.

    Thanks.
     
  2. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You don't have to do any special configurations this to make this work. If both domain.com and host.name.com are pointing to the same server, accessing domain.com:2083 should work for all domains. The cPanel is just a service listening on IP: port.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Home » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings > Redirection tab, has some settings you might like to know about.
    Tweak Settings - cPanel Documentation
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. eZweblogic

    eZweblogic Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you Infopro, It worked perfectly after changing SSL Redirection to (Origin Domain Name).
    --------

    @techs4gnu, Thank you for your time and goodwill


    Cheers
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice