The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domain not appearing for email setup

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by metaphist, May 8, 2012.

  1. metaphist

    metaphist Registered

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've set up an addon domain that appears to be fine, resolving and whatnot. However, it does not appear in the list of available domains for email set up in cPanel.

    Any reason why it would not show up there, but otherwise appear fine? Anything I can check manually or through WHM?
     
  2. ruzbehraja

    ruzbehraja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Silly question, but have you added it as an AddOn Domain and is it showing up in the AddOn domains option?

    Is redirection enabled on it? It maybe redirecting elsewhere.

    What do you see when you type in the domain name?
     
  3. metaphist

    metaphist Registered

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it shows up in addon domains, not redirected, yet does not show up in the list of emails. Typing it in the browser brings up the site fine, so they work.

    Acutally, there are two, which were set up at the same time
    addondomain.jpg

    And here is the email section of cPanel, where they do not show up
    emaillist.jpg

    If I knew how to set up email manually that would probably help in troubleshooting, so I'll research that.
     
  4. ruzbehraja

    ruzbehraja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I notice that you are using them as Parked Domains.

    Why not add them as Parked Domains then?

    Although that does not solve your issue, try it.

    Opening a cpanel support ticket maybe the best option.
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It might be that your cPanel is cached. If that's the case, then they won't show up due to caching temporarily.

    I would check /home/username/etc/ location to see if the domain name has a folder there. If it was properly added, it would have a folder.

    Next, if there isn't a folder, you might check /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log for any errors associated with the creation attempt. Typically, issues like this fall back to some type of permissions issue on files or folders or ownership, or due to limits on the system itself (such as OpenVZ and Virtuozzo systems having account / domain creation limits such as quotaugidlimit on it).
     
  6. metaphist

    metaphist Registered

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is indeed a folder there, and it even has some sub folders that clearly show some emails were already created under that domain. My client told me that they had created some emails some time ago, and that they suddenly weren't there in addition to the domain missing from the list. This confirms that it had to be there at some point for the emails to be created.

    I'll give it a look. Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page