The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domain Parking for cPanel under WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by videorecover, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. videorecover

    videorecover Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi

    I have the follow scenario (domain names are examples):

    1) a WHM account under WHM.COM domain

    2) a cPanel account under CPANEL.COM domain (CPANEL.COM IS A WHM ACCOUNT)

    3) I want to park PARK.COM under CPANEL.COM domain, I can do it via WHM park domain or via cPanel. Ok till here.

    4) for updating PARK.COM DNS on registrar, it does not allow me to insert NS1 & NS2.CPANEL.COM
    It only allow me to update to NS1 & NS2.WHM.COM

    5) If I update DNS of PARK.COM to NSx.WHM.COM it works correctly, when I opne PARK.COM on web browser I can see CPANEL.COM website which is correct.

    But what I would like to do is having NSx.CPANEL.COM as nameservers, not NSx.WHM.COM

    What I need to do?

    Thank you very much for any help!!!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Forgot to mention that I have WHM under a VPS plan, not know if it is a relevant info.
     
  2. server9host

    server9host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    For cpanel.com you are using nsx.whm.com nameserver that's why you need to put nsx.whm.com at park domain because park domain use mail cpanel.com domain DNS zone.

    You need to private nameserver for cpanel.com then you can use nsx.cpanel.com nameserver at park domain registrar end.
     
  3. matthers

    matthers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is the .com extension real, or an example?

    Some registrars require that the nameservers you use for your domain should be the same nameservers defined in the DNS zone on those nameservers.

    So if your VPS is using ns1.whm.com and ns2.whm.com in WHM->Basic cPanel&WHM Setup, as default nameservers, when you park the domain, it's DNS Zone File will be created with NS records to ns1.whm.com and ns2.whm.com .

    So your registrar might require you to use the same nameservers . This is the case for .de and .it domains if I am not wrong, please tell us if the .com extension is correct or not to check the TLDs requirements, than maybe I could give you more hints.
     
  4. videorecover

    videorecover Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi, I'm using DOT BR for both domains WHM and CPANEL. I think they may works as .de and .it but I'm not sure, I did not find more details at registry. There is anything I could make through WHM or it is a domain extension (TLD) issue?

    - - - Updated - - -

    How can I exactly do that (private nameservers for cpanel), where I can try it?
     
  5. server9host

    server9host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    To add private nameserver you need to add DNS zone for cpanel.com (means your main domain) and update same at registrar end with A record. Then your private nameserver will point properly to your server and you can update that nameserver at your park domain registrar end.
     
  6. videorecover

    videorecover Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    So I needo to go to edit DNS zone at CPANEL.COM domain?

    There already exists an "A" entry this way:

    CPANEL.COM. -> A -> 111.111.111.111 (ip number here)

    So I need to update it or add a new "A" entry? What must be the value for this entry? I tried
    CPANEL.COM. -> A -> CPANEL.COM.
    but did not works...

    Thank you very much for your help.
     
  7. server9host

    server9host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Actually, the easiest way to do this is to register private name servers at your registrar. There are instructions for some common registrars here:

    Register A Name Server

    Then, simply add "A" records for NS1 and NS2 pointing to the IP addresses you used when registering the name servers at the registrar.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page