The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domain pinging correctly but not loading in browser

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mlmleads, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. mlmleads

    mlmleads Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am thinking I over looked some simple detail.

    I had a domain hosted on a shared ip on my dedicated server and I needed to install an SSL so I requested two new ip addresses. I made the main the server ip a name server ip and a third ip a name server ip. then I put the domain on the middle Ip.

    I made the proper adjustments at the registrar. I also changed the domains ip on my server to the middle ip.

    When I ping the ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com and domain.com they all respond to that middle ip that I dedicated to the site.

    Is that correct?

    If so what else might be causing the page not to load when it isn't a file issue...?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    What page loads when you attempt to access your domain name? Is it the default cPanel page, or some other type of content?

    To note, a dedicated IP address is not required for SSL if you are using cPanel version 11.38 on an operating system that supports SNI (e.g. CentOS 6).

    Thank you.
     
  3. mlmleads

    mlmleads Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the domain is hoteldeal.com it just says the page can't load..

    pinging the name servers ns1.hoteldeal.com and ns2.hoteldeal.com and the root all respond with the sites assigned ip address.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I am on CPanel 11.38.1
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check to make sure your name servers at the registrar match the name servers used in the DNS Zone for this domain name. You can use a website such as IntoDNS to verify the changes have been made. You can also check to ensure the IP address assigned to the account is not reserved in "WHM Home » Service Configuration » Apache Configuration » Reserved IPs Editor". In addition, have you checked to ensure there are no firewall rules blocking access to the IP address assigned to the account?

    Thank you.
     
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Seems you have wrong name servers in the DNS zone of the domain, i.e. they are not the same as in the registrar.
     
  6. mlmleads

    mlmleads Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yeah I am just realizing the name server ips were not changed the registrar. Its under control of another party at the moment. So I am waiting for them to update and see if that does the trick..

    Thanks for the assist guys. I will let you know if that works.
     
  7. mlmleads

    mlmleads Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok I seem to be getting closer according to intodns.com but I am still not resolving my site.

    Any ideas? For additional things to check?
     
  8. mlmleads

    mlmleads Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #8 mlmleads, Jul 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2013
  9. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It seems to be ok now, the website works for me.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The domain name you provided appears to be loading successfully now, and I see no additional problems with your DNS configuration.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page