The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domain pointing to a certain port [help]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CollateralFX, Sep 13, 2006.

  1. CollateralFX

    CollateralFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Hello,

    Since cPanel does not yet fully support apache2. I was forced to install apache2 on a separate port (8080) in order to run my subversion server.

    Now my question is - is it possible to point a domain (dev.oschat.net) to that port without having to type :8080 on the end of it? Could I manually add an A record or something?

    Any help would be great.

    Thanks,
    Jeff
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No, you can't do it in DNS. The only way to do what you want is to use a didicated IP address and run apache2 on port 80 on that IP and then change apache1 to listen on all other IP's explicitly.
     
  3. CollateralFX

    CollateralFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Would it be like this?

    Apache1:
    Listen 75.126.7.18:80

    Apache2:
    Listen 75.126.8.228:80

    By the way, I use your CSF firewall and I must say it's amazing :D Way better than APF.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Yes (sorry for the late reply)
     
Loading...

Share This Page