The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domain Redirection

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ryanf, Nov 9, 2003.

  1. ryanf

    ryanf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I've tried searching the forum, but had no luck finding what I'm looking for.

    What I want to do is redirect several domain names to my main domain name, and have my main domain come up in browser. I've tried parking domains, but that doesn't do exactly what I'm looking for. I know "mydomain.com" does what I'm looking for, but they're not very reliable.

    Also, I have traffic coming into various locations on a domain, so I would like to redirect all visitors to my main site.

    example.com (loads my site)
    example.com/example.html (doesn't load anything)

    Thanks,

    Ryan
     
  2. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you explain further why parked domains won't work for you?
     
  3. ryanf

    ryanf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's not that "parking" domain's don't work, its that "parking" domains isn't what im looking for.

    Parking domains will simply load the main site and keep the parked domain in the browser url address bar.

    What I want is when someones types in "example.com", the domain will be redirected to my main domain name, and show my main name in the url address bar.

    When comparing to "mydomain.com services", I want a "standard redirection", not stealth or cloaked.

    Ryan
     
  4. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I see under "Add-on Domains" that you can then create a redirection. Will that work?
     
  5. ryanf

    ryanf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't know. You tell me :)

    Ryan
     
  6. ryanf

    ryanf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Addon domains seem to only redirect to subdomains, or am I wrong?.

    Ryan
     
  7. warwickhunt

    warwickhunt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    easy Solution

    If you go to your cpanel page for that domain (not the WHM page) you can use the "Redirects" function to make a permenant re-direct . . . just don't put anything in the FIRST box . . then the whole domain will re-direct . . .

    :)

    Warwick
     
Loading...

Share This Page