The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

(domains)addon, parked or other?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by schwim, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there guys,

    I've got a lot of clients that wish their domain to go dormant, but don't want to get rid of it, and I'd like to point these to an informational page on my hosting site.

    I've read up on addon and parked domains, and it looks to me like parking domains allows it to park at the root of my domain(I don't want this).

    Addon Domains seem to be domains of their own, with logins, passwords for ftp, etc. I don't want this either.

    I just want domain.com to point to mydomain.com/parked/index.php

    How do I get this to happen?

    thanks,
    json
     
  2. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hello..... tappity, tappity... Is this thing on?
     
  3. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok guys, just so I'm clear.....

    I am the only guy that needs to park multiple domains on a page other than index?

    thanks,
    json
     
  4. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's exactly what addon domains are for, and that's why nobody's answered your question.

    With addon domains, you don't need to use the login and password, I usually set it to a random password and don't use it. Addon domains (confusingly named, I know) redirect to subdomains on the main public_html directory and can also be set to redirect to other domains.
     
  5. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In spite of the fact that nobody would answer because I had guessed correctly(WTF???), I appreciate you taking the time to let me know, as I never would have figured out how to forward to a subdomain otherwise. It's the most obfuscated way I could have ever thought to do it, even in my most fevered moments.

    Thanks again for your help,
    json
     
Loading...

Share This Page