The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domains resolve to cpanel default page

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Cygnus_X1, Feb 24, 2006.

  1. Cygnus_X1

    Cygnus_X1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Good day.

    I have BIND working correctly for my server, and my domains have their DNS set to my name servers. They are all propogated, as DIG shows my local zone file entries. So BIND looks like its working well. My problem is that all domains are just resolving to the cPanel "There is no website configured at this address." webpage rather than resolving to their account's document locations /home/username/public_html/index.html

    I checked httpd.conf, and the virtual hosts entries are there, and show the right document paths, but I can't figure why they're pulling up the cPanel page instead.

    All of my hosted accounts/domains are using the same shared IP that the server has.

    Any suggestions, pointers, advice would be greatly appreciated :D

    Example: gargoylehosting.com

    WHOIS: Domain Name: XXXHOSTING.COM

    Domain servers in listed order:
    NS1.XXXHOSTING.COM
    NS2.XXXHOSTING.COM

    Sample of httpd.conf virtual host entry:

    <VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx>
    ServerAlias xxxhosting.com
    ServerAdmin xxxxx@xxxhosting.com
    DocumentRoot /home/username/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/xxxhosting.com-bytes_log
    ServerName www.xxxhosting.com

    User xxxx
    Group xxxx
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/xxxhosting.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/username/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>
     
    #1 Cygnus_X1, Feb 24, 2006
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2006
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  3. Cygnus_X1

    Cygnus_X1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I cleaned up a few of those issues, and nothing is showing as FAIL now. However, I still continue to have the same issue of the default cPanel page coming up instead of the correct homepage for gargoylehosting.com. Any other suggestions? :)
     
  4. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Make sure that this entry exists for the shared IP before any vhost container. I doubt it's a DNS issue, but do wget from another server to make sure it resolves to the correct IP.

    Code:
    NameVirtualHost 66.xx.xx.xx
     
  5. Cygnus_X1

    Cygnus_X1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've verified my DNS is correct. I've verified I have NameVirtualHost 66.xx.xx.xx immediately before my virtual host containers begin. I also made sure this was the only instance of NameVirtualHost for this shared IP. Are there any mod directives in httpd.conf that I need to make sure are commented out or uncommented for name based virtual hosting? Everything else with cpanel/WHM seems to have configured great, and works wonderfully except for this one GIANT issue. What good is cPanel/WHM if I cant host websites successfully :-(

    I appreciate you guys' help, and would appreciate any other pointers or ideas you may have for me to check. Or tests I should try running to help narrow down this issue.

    Thanks!!!
     
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you trying to run this server on a residential RR IP?
     
  7. Cygnus_X1

    Cygnus_X1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    OK, just an update for you guys...i got it figured out. In my NameVirtualHost and my vhost containers I was using the IP from my ISP, but should have been using the internal IP of the server on my lan. After I started logically thinking about it, that my server has no clue about the external IP since that's handled by the router, and the router just passes packets to the internal IP. Its lovely when light bulbs go off in your head from time to time, and you figure it out on your own :D

    Thanks for your suggestions and help, it did get me thinking, and ultimately led to my revelation. :D
     
  8. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The update is appreciated. Too many questions remain a mystery because the resolution is never posted.
     
  9. dingolingo

    dingolingo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Appreciation

    I just happen to have the same problem, and none of the previous threads helped.

    So thank you for taking the time to post.
     
  10. Cygnus_X1

    Cygnus_X1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    no problem :) I'm a newbie to cPanel and Linux admin in general, and always appreciate people's help, so I try to return favors and help where I can. I hope if/when I become experienced enough I will be able to be a regular contributor and helper of newbies :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page