The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domains Starting With Numbers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bamasbest, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Greetings all!

    Finally decided to bite the bullet and upgrade my servers and migrate all virtually hosted domains to the new appliances, with cPanel/WMH installed.

    Just happened to notice, while reviewing the documentation, that domains beginning with numbers can be a problem.

    My question, as I have just one (small) client witha domain beginning with a number, can I at least setup their account with WHM and then provide any additional supported requirements by manually modifying the appropriate files? Or will everything "break" if I do this?

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated:)
     
  2. asmithjr

    asmithjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Domains with numbers

    I have a domain starting with numbers and it works just fine.

    By the way I have a domain that is #.###A#.com and it works.

    I read somewhere you could set up a 3rd level domain. They user registered ###A#.com and I set up #.###A.#.com on the server and they are using it just fine.
     
  3. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks ....

    Thanks!

    Just wanted to try and head off any problems before I got started migrating:)
     
  4. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Last I checked in the latest stable builds you cant set them up with numbers in the beginning anymore. I have domains that have username that start with a number, but you can no longer create them with a number. You will be happily greeted with:

    Sorry usernames cannot begin with a number.

    Same goes for usernames with hyphens in them. You will merrily see:

    Sorry usernames cannot begin with a number.

    I'd handle your username swaps now before migration.

    :D
     
  5. matt621

    matt621 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The only problem we've noticed is that you can't specify a username that begins with a number.

    Since cpanel defauilts the user name based on the domain, you just have to make sure you update that.

    Otherwise we have several that work fine.
     
  6. 4-Realty

    4-Realty Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    add-on domain starting with a number?

    So how do I add an add-on domain that startes with a number? Such as 4-mydomain.com

    There are numerous domains starting with numbers, why is it so hard to add them in cpanel?
     
Loading...

Share This Page