Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Domlogs gone crazy?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kernow, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Logrotate is now running for about 8 hours a day and after looking in the domlogs i see.......... well, here's a typical entry:
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.2.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.2.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.2.gz.1.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.offset.1.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.offset.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.offset.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1 .gz.2.gz.1.gz.2.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.offset.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2 .gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.offset.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1 .gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.offset.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.1 .gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.offset.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1 .gz.1.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net-bytes_log.offset.2.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1 .gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.g z.2.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.g z.1.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.g z.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.2.gz.2.gz
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/w.websfield.net.1.gz.2.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.1.gz.2.gz
    ###########
    Any ideas?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 kernow, Jan 2, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2006
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Your domlogs should not be rotated by logrotate - so it would appear to be a problem with something you've implemented.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    No, we haven't implemented anything new recently.
    BTW, if logrotate doesn't rotate the domlogs, what does?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The cpanellogd/logrunner process rotates them and it does not create tarballs, so you or someone else must have configured logrotate to rotate them as cPanel doesn't use that to manage domlog rotation at all.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your right ! I did it myself ages ago and forgot about it. The domlogs had over 4GIG of data at the time so i set up a logrotate job.
    Thanks for making me remember. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice