The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

domlogs...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by simon23, Oct 20, 2004.

  1. simon23

    simon23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My domlogs keep on filling the /usr/ partition.

    So i finally figured out in the tweak settings.. to checkmark the part that says delete logs after running the stats update.


    Now my question is,
    How often do the webstats for the domains get updated?


    And how would I run it manually?

    So it updates the stats for awstats and webalizer.


    Thanks
     
  2. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think the default is daily.

    You can run them immediately with:

    /scripts/runlogsnow
     
  3. simon23

    simon23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In the tweak settings.. i have click on the delete logs after logs are processed...

    why aren't they being deleted after I run

    /scripts/runlogsnow

    to update all the logs?


    it just says this...
    Resetting Logs for asdfcom...Done
    Resetting Logs for jill...Done
    Resetting Logs for mike...Done
    Resetting Logs for doughs...Done
    Resetting Logs for paris...Done
    ==> Loading Config (cpanellogd) .... Done
    ==> cpaneld(logger) 8.0 Starting (1 processor system).....
    ==> Shared RRDTOOL support enabled
     
  4. simon23

    simon23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So I dont think it actully processed the logs.. because that all happened in 2 seconds...
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The logs are processed as often as you have them configured to run under WHM > Tweak Settings > Number of days between processing log files and bandwidth usage . Bear in mind that if your server is constantly above this setting WHM > Tweak Settings > The load average above the number of cpus at which logs file processing should be suspended then your logs won't be processed.
     
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There also is an option in WHM under Add Modules that allows you to schedule log processing for times when the load average is lower.
     
  7. simon23

    simon23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    for the number of days

    can I use 0.5 to make it process the logs every 12 hours?
     
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Yes. That's what mine is set for.
     
  9. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Add Modules

    Hello Sawbuck

    Where do we find the opton Add Modules ?

    Regards,
    David
     
  10. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In our case in WHM > cPanel 9.9.8-S6 > Addon Modules.
     
  11. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks sawbuck

    Regards,
    David
     
  12. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    whats the average time frame it takes for the Log Schedule to be processed ?
     
  13. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's going to be directly related to your server load against the amount of data that needs to be processed for each domain, so it will be different for everyone, i.e. could be from minutes to hours.
     
  14. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    wouldnt take more then 6 hours though for an average busy server , would it.
    Reason why I'm asking is cause am using the add on module "Schedule Statistics Log Times" and just wanna allow 4-6 hours for the logs to run (2-8am), so that should be more then enough , shouldnt it ?
     
  15. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The only way to know is to try it out ;)
     
  16. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    u r sooo right , am trying it out now :p

    BTW : what happend to your avatar ? Getting a bit of color in your life ? :D
     
  17. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Trying to make the link between me and our new site design ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page