The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dovecot won't start

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by sahostking, Sep 2, 2013.

  1. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sep 3 02:45:12 lin01 dovecot: Dovecot v1.2.17 starting up (core dumps disabled)
    Sep 3 02:45:12 lin01 dovecot: bind(/var/run/dovecot/dict-server) failed: Disk quota exceeded
    Sep 3 02:45:12 lin01 dovecot: Fatal: net_listen_unix(/var/run/dovecot/dict-server) failed: Disk quota exceeded


    Any ideas what the above means. Free diskspace is more than enough so bit lost.

    Migrated to courier but want to move back to dovecot again. The above error just popped up after rebooting server.
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the error message says "Disk quota exceeded" it does not help if you tell that "Free diskspace is more than enough".

    How much is there free space in /var?
     
  3. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda2 42G 30G 9.8G 76% /
    tmpfs 3.9G 7.9M 3.9G 1% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1 194M 138M 47M 75% /boot
    /dev/sdb1 197G 192G 0 100% /backup
    /dev/sdc1 394G 59G 315G 16% /home
    /usr/tmpDSK 485M 84M 377M 19% /tmp


    Those are the partitions I current have setup on this server. Hence /var should e fine as it's in / ?
     
  4. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not seen this precise one before, just to sanity check what is the output for the dovecot user if you run repquota / (i.e. is the output sane / without limits)
     
  5. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try to check disk inode limit of your /var partition

    Code:
    df -i 
     
  6. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    running df -i /var

    Filesystem Inodes IUsed IFree IUse% Mounted on
    /dev/sda2 2744320 831556 1912764 31% /
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,682
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Check to see if there is a quota for the "dovecot" username:

    Code:
    quota dovecot
    If there is, please disable it. Also, use the "df -i" command on it's own so it checks all partitions to see if any are at 100% usage. Beyond that, is this a VPS? If so, check /proc/user_beancounters to see if there are any fail counts for parameters configured from the VPS node.

    Thank you.
     
  8. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    sais none for quota dovecot

    Would this be an issue?

    root@lin01 [/etc]# quota root
    quota: Cannot find any quota file to work on.
    Disk quotas for user root (uid 0):
    Filesystem blocks quota limit grace files quota limit grace
    /dev/sda2 26612564 0 0 791881* 100000 250000 6days
    /dev/sdc1 6545952 0 0 112512* 100000 250000 6days
     
    #8 sahostking, Sep 3, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  9. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm currently running /scripts/fixquotas - Could this help?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,682
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should not have a quota for the "root" user. Please run this command to disable it:

    Code:
    /scripts/editquota root unlimited
    Thank you.
     
  11. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks got it working now.

    Only issue left is when logging into Webmail emails are showing there but not in Outlook when clicking send and recieve on any account. Anyway to fix this?
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,682
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  13. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I am using IMAP. If I recreate the mail account in outlook it works fine now.

    But what about clients that are also using IMAP but do not recreate mail account. The settings are exactly the same. Very strange. They can view new emails in webmail but not showing up or being retrieved via outlook/thunderbird.
     
    #13 sahostking, Sep 3, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,682
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recommend opening a new thread if the issue persists. This thread is related to the issue with Dovecot starting, so it's better to have a new thread for separate issues.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page