The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

download limit in apache?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by RavenSoul_, Feb 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RavenSoul_

    RavenSoul_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hi,

    I have a 4 giga tar.gz in my public_html dir. When I want to download the file, it gives a forbidden error. the permissions are set correct. Another tar.gz on this account is around 300mb, and is downloadable.

    Is there a limit on downloading files in apache?
     
  2. RavenSoul_

    RavenSoul_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belgium
    OK,

    I splitted the file in chunks of 500mb:

    Source:

    Code:
    
    dd if=b.tar.gz of=chunk1 bs=1MB count=500; 
    dd if=b.tar.gz of=chunk2 bs=1MB count=500 skip=500; 
    dd if=b.tar.gz of=chunk3 bs=1MB count=500 skip=1000; 
    dd if=b.tar.gz of=chunk4 bs=1MB count=500 skip=1500; 
    dd if=b.tar.gz of=chunk5 bs=1MB count=500 skip=2000; 
    dd if=b.tar.gz of=chunk6 bs=1MB count=500 skip=2500; 
    dd if=b.tar.gz of=chunk7 bs=1MB count=500 skip=3000
    
    
    target:

    Code:
    
    wget http://url.tld/chunk1;
    wget http://url.tld/chunk2;
    wget http://url.tld/chunk3;
    wget http://url.tld/chunk4;
    wget http://url.tld/chunk5;
    wget http://url.tld/chunk6;
    wget http://url.tld/chunk7;
    
    cat chunk1 chunk2 chunk3 chunk4 chunk5 chunk6 chunk7 > b.tar.gz
    
    
    Solved.

    Just wanna know: is there a limit?
     
  3. Patiek

    Patiek Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You won't be able to download anything over 2GBs due to limitations.
     
  4. Matsaki

    Matsaki Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Wow, this was an old post. Things have happened since 1995. Is there any chance that this 2Gb limit will be updated in coming versions of cPanel? As I understand as a cPanel user I can't change this limit my self in "Apache Handlers".
     
  5. lijeeshsd

    lijeeshsd Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Apache 1.3 and 2.0 has this problem of 2GB file size limit. This problem has been fixed in Apache 2.2. So if you use Apache 2.2, this problem should not happen. You can upgrade Apache to 2.2 using Cpanel EasyApache.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page