The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Downloading a MySQL backup issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by D-Litz, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. D-Litz

    D-Litz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What would cause a backup from the built in MySQL backup function to only be 1 byte?

    Downloading the same sql file via PHPMyAdmin works just fine.

    Thanks
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the past, that would be caused by attempting to create a backup while logged into the cPanel interface using the reseller override feature. Since the reseller had no access to the database, the resulting backup file was much smaller than it should have been.

    In the latest versions of cPanel/WHM, the interface will notify you about this situation (if logged in using reseller override) before you generate a bad backup. However, this condition also prevents access to phpMyAdmin via cPanel.

    Are you accessing phpMyAdmin via cPanel or via WHM?
     
  3. D-Litz

    D-Litz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator


    The problem is with cpanel>backups>Download a MySQL Database Backup>Pick a database to download.

    the download begins...but when it saves, its only 1byte in size.

    In phpmyadmin, I just use the export feature and get the database that way...however the Backup>Download a MySQL Database Backup is broken.
     
  4. D-Litz

    D-Litz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Forgot to add that we do not have any reseller accounts on any of our servers...

    All accounts are under root.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you accessing phpMyAdmin via cPanel or via WHM?

    Additionally, are you logged into cPanel as the user with their password, or with your root password?
     
  6. D-Litz

    D-Litz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am accessing it via cPanel and using the end user login info

    http://domain.com:2082/frontend/x3/index.html
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In that case, I recommend letting our technical analysts assist you with determining the cause of this issue and resolution of this issue.
     
  8. nomankhn

    nomankhn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Yes, i also face some time same problem, but mostly its due to that database is not selected, i just download a php file, after selecting proper database and complete inserts, i never see such problems.
     
Loading...

Share This Page