Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Downloading full server backup with browser

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by maxoniva, Mar 12, 2018.

Tags:
  1. maxoniva

maxoniva Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello. I just start using WHM and I'm very new in this theme. The sysadmin before me create monthly backup procedure with WHM > Backup > Backup Configuration. It makes full server backup to /backup folder. The sysadmin every month created gziped file of this backup and sent some link to my manager so manager could download this gzipped file. I wonder, how it's possible. Hope anybody can help me with this.
    P.S. "Ask this sysadmin" is not an option.

2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

You'd need to use a utility such as SFTP or Rsync to download the archives to your local computer if you want to avoid accessing cPanel for each account to download them individually. You could use an application such as FileZilla to access the server via SFTP as "root" and download the archives from the server's /backup/ directory.

Thank you.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. RadWebHosting

RadWebHosting Active Member

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Would it not be possible to compress the /backups/date-of-backup directory, which includes account and system backup directories, into a downloadable file (i.e. .gz)-and move this backup into a public directory (accessible over browser from 443 or 80, for instance)?

It seems like some basic hooks management would make this easy to automate? Thoughts?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...