The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Downtime reasons

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by royli57, Mar 11, 2005.

1. royli57

royli57 Active Member

Hi Everyone

I am new to hosting. I have hosted my own servers, but have never hosted other people's sites before. In the past we have used FreeBSD and installed our own web server software, and this is our first time using cpanel.

I wanted to ask from those with hosting experience, what are the most common reasons for downtime? This is my largest concern, and I want to make sure I can offer a quality service and keep our servers running well.

thanks

Roy

2. chirpy

chirpy Well-Known Member

IMX, the most common reasons for downtime/innaccessibility (in no particular order):

1. Routine maintenance at the NOC
    2. Networking issues
    3. Server compromise (make sure it's been secured well and the OS and apps are kept up to date)
    4. Hardware failure (make sure that you have backups. rising in preferability: backups on the system disk; backups on their own disk; off-server backups)
    5. Kernel upgrades causing corruption (rare but they do sometimes happen)
    6. As above for glibc upgrades
    7. Make sure you choose a supported OS. Do choose something like FreeBSD, RHE, CentOS. Do not choose something like RH9, Fedora. Otherwise you'll be upgrading or manually patching your OS too often and it will not be as stable as it could/should be.
    8. Slippery fingers while logged in as root - sounds silly, but I've seen amny a server trashed by a missing space or a rm -Rf in the wrong directory, etc.

3. dave9000

dave9000 Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I can appreciate that, I blew away the /home directory one morning trying to delete some stuff while half asleep

Makes for a BAD day :D

4. DigitalN