The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DreamHost to cPanel - Specially e-mail data - HELP

Discussion in 'Migrate to cPanel' started by DragonDF, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hello guys!

    I am moving from DreamHost for a server with Cpanel (reseller account).
    I tried to search for a few terms as "dreamhost' and others and what I read did not help very much.
    I got the "Documenting Manual Migrations to cPanel" pdf, too. Reading it.


    1st problem: I needed to create one accout (user) for each domain in WHM. When I was logged in Cpanel with one of the users I could not create a new domain under it. Neither if they were the same (one .com and other .com.au).

    this is not good.
    Why one client can not have more than one domain under it? This has no logic. In my mind he can have as many domains as his account allows (10 to unlimited).


    What am I doing?
    --- IN DREAMHOST ---
    1. Go to the FTP account in DreamHost and download the data to my desktop.
    2. Go to mysql user account (mysql.domain.com) and download the database (.sql file)

    -- IN CPANEL server ---
    3. In the reseller's account (WHM) I create the new user to that domain.
    4. In cpanel (new user) I create the database_user and database.
    5. Upload the data to the directory TRANSFER in the reseller's account and ask for the "support" to upload them to the new user account.
    6. Go to the Registar and change the DNS setup (ns1 and ns2) pointing to the Cpanel's server.


    The support of this "cpanel's server" is not so good, unhappily. The guy asks everytime to a .tar file. I know he wants to use a feature of WHM that allows the importation process automatic.
    Looks like or he is a lazy guy or he does not know how to do the migration process.

    I think he will not solve the problem and after propagation I will have to do everything by myself.


    BIG PROBLEM: E-MAIL DATA
    Dreamhost has a feature where you can backup and download the email data by users.
    I can not access the email directory by myself.

    I see they have the same options as we can find in Cpanel (squirrelmail and others).
    If this happens, it means I can download and upload email DATA without problem.

    WHERE?

    How can I do it by using reseller account?


    My reseller account has not some options, unhappily.



    What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    About email.

    In Dreamhost I could see:

    Directory:
    domain.com/Maildir/new

    Inside new there are a lot of lines (files) with things like:

    123234523453452.V8116554deM20700.kampala

    Is this a MESSAGE?


    How to upload it to the Cpanel email directory?
     
  3. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    About Domains

    I went to Packages > Edit a Package and changed the option:
    Max domains from 0 to unlimited.

    I believe from now I can add more domains in a Cpanel user account.
    :)

    One problem less.
     
  4. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    About Domains, yet

    You can see the video about Addon Domains (number 21) here (and others videos for free):

     
  5. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Another problem:

    MYSQL database importation.

    Dreamhost uses an structure as:
    mysql.domain.com
    user / pass

    Cpanel uses an structure as:
    localhost
    user_user
    prefix_databasename


    Is there any other way to import the database in an easy way?

    Or do I need to adjust SQL syntax by myself ?
     
  6. JeffP.

    JeffP. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel does not restrict the amount of Addon Domains that can be created under an account. This can be restricted via package limits, however. Without knowing the exact steps you are taking when you experience the issue, and without knowing exactly what happens when you see the issue, it's difficult to speculate on your issue if it doesn't involve limits set by the package. If you don't have root access on your server, you'd need to contact your host. If you do have root access and need assistance, you can always open a ticket on our helpdesk.

    Do you have root access to the server?
     
  7. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hello Jeff!

    Thank you for your reply.

    About domains, I wrote 2 replies about them:
    and


    You wrote:
    "it's difficult to speculate on your issue if it doesn't involve limits set by the package. "

    Yes, it involved limits set by the package.



    But, thank you for you reply.

    :)

    -------

    This is the BIG problem I have.
    I have a Master Reseller account but almost no privileges.

    I post the others problems. Maybe some of them I do not need ROOT access. For example: uploading the database file.
    It is not working.
    They have diferent structure.
    I could not upload the database direct in PhpMyAdmin.

    :(
     
  8. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Having performed a DreamHost to CPanel migration myself, I can tell you you're going to be doing a lot of things manually. Here's why I say that. DreamHost doesn't store email on the same server as your webspace anymore. At least, they hadn't when I was last with them. So you're going to want to run a script like /http://fetchmail.berlios.de/ to download your users' email, and have it delivered to the respective mailbox. The same thing with MySQL--you'll need to pull a backup of all your databases, and either upload them via phpMyAdmin or import them through the command line. The rest is basicly just FTP the contents of your web directory from your DH server to the CPanel server.
     
    #8 quanin, Dec 17, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  9. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hello quanin!
    Thank you for your reply.

    How do you do the PhpMyAdmin transfer?
    One is localhost
    other is mysql.domain.com

    The database NAME and USER are different.

    Did you need to change the details in SQL file before you uploaded them?

    I thought it could be done direct.
     
    #9 DragonDF, Dec 17, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  10. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    None of that information is stored in the SQL file, so that doesn't matter. Depending on what software you're running, you will need to change the configuration file that tells that software where your database is. But beyond that, the database structure etc is exactly the same.
     
  11. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Strange.
    I will try to get a Printscreen with the problem.
    When I try to upload the database by using PHPMYADMIN I had problem
    Database size: less than 300kb.

    Maybe a restriction to final user.
    I don't know.

    I will do it and take the printscreens.

    About the software to get the emails, I will take a read later. Looks like very useful for these cases.


    I don't know but.. EVERY TIME a client needs to move from another server to a Cpanel is so difficult like this?
    Or my support team is a leader in take more than 24 hours and NOT setup ONE DOMAIN (of over 10)?
     
  12. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Forget the print screen. Just paste the error message you're getting and I'll see what I can do.
     
  13. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    In attachment I show the problem.

    I received a message from support with the info that he had not any problem to upload the .SQL file.

    When I read that the problem has relation with the USER that HAS NOT ACCESS to the DATABASE I could conclude:

    Yes, I have NO POWER in my Cpanel host.

    -----------
    Can you imagine more than 30 hours to only get 20Mb of files from dreamhost and insert them into a PUBLIC_HTML directory and after this only get the database that I EXPORT and upload into the PHPMYADMIN in Cpanel?

    I think the support guy did not have problem because he used ROOT user.


    -----------
    I tried to upload the sql file inside the "client" user.


    What can I do to try this in a different way?


    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I can't actually see your screenshot. This is why I said just paste the error you're getting. Also: It should be doable as a non-root user. As I said, that's what I did.
     
  15. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Just to be clear: He DID NOT do his job yet. My problem continues.
    Maybe I can create a movie about this Saga.
     
  16. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just to be equally clear. I still can't see your screenshot. Please paste your error or I can't help you.
     
  17. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner

    Where fitXXX is the CPANEL's user and NOT the DATABASE user created in Localhost (cpanel's host)
     
  18. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there a reason you're not logged in to PHPMyAdmin as the MySQL user that shows up in CPanel?
     
  19. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    1. Login in the cpanel using "fitxxx" user.
    2. Go to PhpMyAdmin (click)
    3. Open PhpMyAdmin
    4. Upload the .SQL.zip file.
    5. Receive that ERROR message.

    Is there any other way I can CHOOSE the Mysql user?

    Maybe logout and login again with the correct user?
     
    #19 DragonDF, Dec 18, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  20. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    TESTED.
    It does not allow to LOGOUT the phpMyAdmin.
    I click to LOGOUT and NOTHING happens.

    :(

    In this case, I can not change the USER.
     
Loading...

Share This Page