The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dreamweaver, phpMyAdmin, MySQL and CPanel

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by plastik9, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. plastik9

    plastik9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I have looked all over many forums, help files, books and google searches for an answer to this question, I really hope someone here can help me...

    I am creating a site using Dreamweaver MX 2004. I have logged in to CPanel and created a MySQL database using phpMyAdmin. I have established a connection between Dreamweaver and my database and it seems to be working fine. Dreamweaver displays the Database tables and the individual field/column info. I have even used one of the tables to create a login page that works very well.

    My problem is with Recordsets. I have two recordsets in my bindings panel (Login and Reports). When I click on them to expand and see the individual columns I get the following error (in DW, not in Internet Explorer):

    HTTP ERROR 500: Internal Server Error

    Without being able to see these there is no way that I can use the database info to create dynamic text as I would like to.

    Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? I would really appreciate any help as I really need to get this website done!

    Thanks for reading

    Paul
     
  2. anilg

    anilg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    india
    can i have acces to your server hey dont mind it'll be safe.
    just want look at your site and also give me cpanel login detail. dont just paste here anything login detail .
    if you are going to give me uname/passwd just sent it to on anillovely85@gmail.com. and jst let me know with yes/no

    or i'll assist you here

    thx
     
  3. plastik9

    plastik9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anil,

    Thank you for offering to help. I am not allowed to give out the login/password details as the site does not belong to me, I am just working on it.

    http://www.afcdonsville.co.uk/problems.htm

    These are the errors that I get. I'd really appreciate if anyone could help at all. I just don't know what I'm doing wrong... I wondered if its related to privileges on the mysql database or if maybe I have set up the DSN wrong. I do have a connection though, its just the table fields won't show up in the Applications panel (although they do appear when creating the recordset query)

    Again if anyone could help I would be very grateful and maybe I'll be able to once again sleep at night!

    Thanks
     
    #3 plastik9, Oct 19, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2008
  4. Bartuc

    Bartuc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It is NOT recommended to use dreamweaver mx 2004 because server behaviours has lots of SQL injection problem. You can easy get hacked.

    Use new dreamweaver, dreamweaver cs4. probably you won't experience HTTP 500 error on dreamweaver cs4.
     
  5. plastik9

    plastik9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK thanks for the advice, I'll try that.

    I read somewhere that someone just hand coded their references to the database as they were experiencing the same problems with the bindings panel as me. This will probably work for me too as the database connection does actually work (I have created a login page).

    The only problem is I don't know enough PHP to write it myself. I want to create dynamic text, does anyone have any advice/ideas/examples of how I could do this please?
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the cPanel interface, click on the Remote MySQL icon. Be sure to add your IP address otherwise the server will not let you connect to the databases. If you are not sure what your IP address is, visit a website like WhatIsMyIpAddress.com

    Note, if this occurs again in the future, your IP address may have changed and you may need to repeat these steps.
     
  7. plastik9

    plastik9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi David,

    I have added my IP address under the Remote MySQL option, and I have also tried using the % wildcard as well. The connection seems to work fine. Dreamweaver even recognises the database, the two tables, and the column names. But for some reason I get the error message when trying to view the table columns in the recordset queries that I have created.

    I'm not sure which end the problem is at - whether it has something to do with CPanel/MySQL settings or if its a Dreamweaver issue. I can't create dynamic text without access to these recordsets (unless it will work if I just code the PHP myself, and I wouldn't know where to start!)

    Any ideas?

    Thanks for all the help by the way, Ive used a number of other forums and on most of them I don't even get a response.

    Paul
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have never used that particular functionality of Dreamweaver and I no longer possess a copy of Dreamweaver to be able to determine if the behavior you are seeing is due to client-side or server-side issues.

    Have you contacted Adobe (the makers of Dreamweaver) to collect their input regarding this situation?
     
  9. plastik9

    plastik9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After experimenting with Dreamweaver and testing a similar connection using Apache, phpmyadmin and MySQL on my computer it seems to work fine. So I think I can safely say now that Dreamweaver can do what I ask, but something on the remote server is blocking the connection.

    I have noticed the _mmserverscripts folder also does not show up in Dreamweaver when I look at the remote/testing server files root folder. But it does exist in the same location, as I can see it when I log in to CPanel. Is this normal? I wonder if this is related to the problem.
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This file naming convention (the _ prefix) is used by some applications for folders they don't want people to directly manipulate. If you recall, the Dreamweaver used to be made by a company called Macromedia (mm) before they were bought by Adobe. So I wouldn't make much of the _mm... folder not being visible in Dreamweaver, it may be a collection of scripts you aren't intended to directly manipulate via Dreamweaver.

    Have you considered contacting your hosting provider regarding this issue? Perhaps they could assist you with troubleshooting this by looking at incoming connections to their server and perhaps any relevant server logs.
     
  11. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I understand correctly, your problem centers around this message that appears within Dreamweaver when attempting to view the database schema:

    Code:
    HTTP ERROR 500: Internal Server Error
    
    Is that correct?

    If so, have your web host provider check the Apache error_log. The specific error should be logged there. It sounds as if there is a permission or ownership issue that conflicts with the way Apache is attempting to handle the request.

    If Apache is not handling the request, then we will need to track down what is handling the request.

    It might also be a matter of the database user needing to have full privileges over the database being accessed. This level of access is not granted via the cPanel interface. You will need to discuss this with your web host provider. The All Privileges check box in cPanel only grants the privileges displayed in the interface, which leaves out a few.
     
  12. plastik9

    plastik9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That's my exact problem yes. And now for some unknown reason I am experiencing a 404 error when trying to connect to my database. This was working before without a problem.

    Apparently it can no longer map to the folder public_html/mm_ServerScripts/MHTTPB.php on the root server. I have checked and the files are definitely there.

    On top of that, I am occasionally experiencing a failure to connect through the usual ftp.mysite.com, which has always worked. Sometimes when I try and access the website (www.afcdonsville.co.uk/index.php) I just get redirected to www.123-reg.co.uk

    Something weird is definitely happening here, I guess the answer as you say is to contact my hosting provider. I can't seem to log in there either (www.dream-hosting.co.uk) with the details I have provided, and the CPanel support request function is not set up!

    I guess I'll need some help from the people who set the website up originally too (and they have even less of a clue than I do). Thanks for the advice.
     
  13. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I hope you find your solution with them.
     
Loading...

Share This Page