The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual Processor reports as 4

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sportbikes, Oct 3, 2003.

  1. sportbikes

    sportbikes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I just got a dual xeon server and WHM reports 4 processors when using Server Information.

    ANy idea of why this is reporting 4 processors?

    Mike

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Higgins

    Higgins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You see 4 Prcessors because Hyperthreading is activated. (Dual Xeon ?? )

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. pkuk

    pkuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Xeon's always do appear as two, as hyperthreading provides twin instruction paths, this is the case not matter what OS you use, be it Linux or an MS OS. Your box should be VERY fast...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. sportbikes

    sportbikes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Thanks!

    I'm expecting FAST :D I'll let you know once I get it loaded.

    Mike

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Blue Dot Labs

    Blue Dot Labs Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    what are your thoughts on hosts marketing a dual hyperthreading cpu system as being a quad cpu system? should this be marketed as such, and is this even a valid claim performance wise?

    would it be in any way correct to claim a dual 2.8 hyperthreaded server is a quad 2.8ghz server, with an effective 9.6ghz? The basis for this claim being that WHM reports 4 cpus when hyperthreading is enabled, and several companies on ebay also market this as a quad cpu system.

    The reasoning behind this is that one hyperthreaded cpu equals two non-hyperthreaded cpus, with an effective double ghz processing power increase.

    I have seen no technical info to prove anything more than a 30%-40% increase in processing power at best, and that at times performance can decrease with hyperthreading.

    How can I get some input from the cPanel team on this subject?

    please email mike@bluedotlabs.com with any insight,
     
  6. pkuk

    pkuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    personally I would market that as dual hyperthreading xeon, rather than quad, as the description would ususally be related to the physical spec. I personally would think a quad xeon would be a quad with 8 virtual processors... not 4...
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No, that would be a false-claim. Their are many that say that configuring a processor in non-HT mode can outperform one with HT enabled. The only truthful way you could advertise it is how pkuk has said.

    Now, if you were running the upcoming AMD X2 which has dual cores then you could advertise that have having 2 CPU's, but HT enabled does not mean that you have twice the processors, or twice the processing power - far from it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page