The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dumb "Modify an Account" question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JSBurlison, Nov 23, 2010.

1. JSBurlison

JSBurlison Well-Known Member

Lets see if I can give the situation with out too much fluff....not likely.

I have a resellers server but I do not resell and I am a total novice.

On one of the accounts I have the main domain plus two add on domains.

We are going to create a brand new account with a temporary account name and temporary domain. In this temporary account we are gong to build a brand new site to replace the existing site that is a an add on domain in another account.

When we get the new site built and tested the plan is when we go live is to get rid of the add on domain and rename the new account as well as change to the domain name that used to be an add on domain.

Will there be any problems in doing it like this. What kind of issues might I face?

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If I understand you correctly, yes, I think that would work.

[suggestion]
    Why bother with the added steps if you're planning on renaming the temp domain to the other? Why not skip that temp domain stuff all together for now and just create the new site in a directory? Once the site is ready to go, kill the addon. Then create the new account normally and move the new site into place on the former addon now it's own, domain and account.

Renaming/editing an account will work, but there is a lot that goes on there with renaming an account. If I could work around doing that (renaming an account) I would.
    [/suggestion]

HTH

3. JSBurlison

Maybe I am missing something.