Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

E Post Maintenance ended, however it did not exit cleanly (256)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sammyboy405, Nov 5, 2017.

Tags:
  1. sammyboy405

    sammyboy405 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mustang, Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Upgraded to 68.0.9, and never finishes..

    E Post Maintenance ended, however it did not exit cleanly (256).

    ive seen some other posts on similar, I have a feeling its failing because it maybe doing something kernel related. And Im on an openvz vps.

    Im pretty new into using cpanel, so bare with me. another thread similar recommended running /scripts/find_outdated_services - I did that and it said no outdated services found.

    Code:
    [2017-11-05 22:22:46 -0600] 94% complete
    [2017-11-05 22:22:46 -0600] Processing: Checking CloudLinux installation
    [2017-11-05 22:22:46 -0600] - Processing command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/cloudlinux_update`
    [2017-11-05 22:22:46 -0600] - Finished command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/cloudlinux_update` in 0.049 seconds
    [2017-11-05 22:22:46 -0600] Processing: Updating plugins data cache
    [2017-11-05 22:22:46 -0600] - Processing command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/refresh_plugin_cache`
    [2017-11-05 22:22:47 -0600] - Finished command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/refresh_plugin_cache` in 0.244 seconds
    [2017-11-05 22:22:47 -0600] 95% complete
    => Log closed Sun Nov 5 22:22:47 2017
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    => Log opened from cPanel Update (upcp) - Slave (19771) at Sun Nov 5 22:22:47 2017
    [2017-11-05 22:22:47 -0600] E Post Maintenance ended, however it did not exit cleanly (256). Please check the logs for an indication of what happened
    thats the last bit of log file before it fails. everything seems to be functioning properly? Any direction would be appreciated.
     
  2. sammyboy405

    sammyboy405 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mustang, Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Adding to this now that i understand a little more about how to read the log file on what im looking for - the following entries had the E flag.

    Code:
    [2017-11-05 21:27:04 -0600] E    [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/fixetchosts] The “/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/fixetchosts” command (process 18355) reported error number 255 when it ended.
    Code:
    [2017-11-05 21:27:06 -0600] E    [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/smartcheck] The “/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/smartcheck” command (process 18369) reported error number 2 when it ended.
    the etchosts deal, I know there is a open PR for fixing cpanel to work with openvz when it comes to hostname. there is some sorta issue with not allowing for a FQDN to be set correctly. Not sure if thats related on the first error im getting.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you manually run the "/scripts/fixetchosts" command and let us know the output? Also, a separate thread and internal case is open for the smartcheck error at:

    upcp failure - smartcheck

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. sammyboy405

    sammyboy405 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mustang, Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the Smartcheck fix, that worked.

    But the error on fixetchosts - says my hostname is not valid. I think i still has something to do with openvz not allowing cpanel to work with the host file. I had a ticket open for that a few months ago and they told me it was an open outstanding issue still that cpanel and openvz are working on.

    Im gonna try and manually fix the hostname back to a fqdn and run the script again and see if that fixes it for a workaround.
     
  5. sammyboy405

    sammyboy405 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mustang, Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok that fixed it - I manually had to edit my hostname and put it back to the FQDN. and everything cleared.

    So Smartcheck - had to touch the fstab
    hostfilefix - had to edit it and manually put it back to the fqdn (openvz as soon as you reboot it will revert back to the first name. i.e server.billybob.com will revert to server) untill the openvz issue is fixed.. and I have no idea if its a Cpanel issue or openvz issue.

    Anyways thats the fix for me.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The following post provides a method to ensure the hostname change remains saved through reboots:

    SOLVED - Hostname resets on reboot

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice