The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

E10 Compeltel Failure!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GOT, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stay away from E10. It compeltely broke cpanel and webmail at a minimum. WHM still working. Regressing back to Release has not fixed it.

    Nick, please fix!
     
  2. Myacen

    Myacen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Glad it's not only us facing this problem.
     
  3. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Regressing back to Release and rebooting brought everything back up.
     
  4. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    E10? Dont see it on the changelog. Thanks for the warning. :D
     
  5. Myacen

    Myacen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Open your eyes :p
     
  6. brumie

    brumie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cpanel & webmail, working fine on RHE3
     
  7. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Well, maybe I'll give it another shot then. :)
     
  8. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Musta been a fluke for me. Just reinstalled Edge and everything looks fine.
     
  9. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We updated like you said to edge10 on all servers earlier,
    We have been constantly getting 2 errors ever since then. They are:
    webmail failed @ Wed Mar 10 19:53:43 2004. A restart was attempted automagicly.

    whostmgr failed @ Wed Mar 10 19:53:43 2004. A restart was attempted automagicly.
     
  10. ricoche

    ricoche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Exact same thing here. I then reverted back to Release and everything is working great. I did this on both an RH7.3 and RH9.0 server. I also have an RHE but didn't go there due to the results.

    Will wait and see.
     
  11. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    E10 wasnt there when i looked thank you.
     
  12. ricoche

    ricoche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I check the changelogs quite regularly each day and have noticed recently that different versions appear and disappear. I would have to say that it is definitely possible for people to see different things at different times.

    I remember this happening in the E60's version too. It made me blink a couple of times. <grin>

    Probably best to wait until the next Edge update which will probably happen soon enough.
     
  13. brumie

    brumie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm still monitoring server and RHE3 so far so good with this build
    no constant errors
     
  14. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't know if my issue is related, by I am also using E10 release and now, my server is hosed. Can't fix it by downgrading because dns seems to be screwed and anything that is attempted to download via a URL will not download so updates will not work for me.

    See this related thread.
     
  15. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The servers in /etc/resolv.conf are probably down or blocked by a firewall
     
  16. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Think will be forced to go back to release version getting all kinds of errors on mail restarting, to bad
    Hve ran upcp edge 3 times and same thing on all servers
     
  17. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    webmaild and whostmgrd no longer exist in EDGE 10.

    All cpanel services are handled by cpsrvd.

    the installer should have removed it from your chkservd config
     
  18. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    there is also another bug in whm under mysql.phpmyadmin/ try to view a database
     
  19. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    hey nick does this mean that if one of these included services fails (now part of cpsrvd) does this mean that many services could crash? what's you reasoning behind this direction? fill us in please ...I am very interested.
     
  20. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The old ones were slow and used some old sysv stuff that I've been dying to get rid of for a while. The idea was to make them faster and decrease the memory footprint. Its checked by chkservd by default now as well.
     

Share This Page