The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EA3 mod_h2 support

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by exon.io, Dec 4, 2015.

  1. Jamira40

    Jamira40 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    I think there is feature request for this already but its for EA4 that is not supported on CL.
    So it would be nice to have atleast option to install mod_h2 as a custom mod.

    Thanks

    PS: Push MySQL 5.7 to cP ;-D
     
  2. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    We don't plan to support http2 specifically for EA3, however once we release Apache 2.4.18, you can easily build support for HTTP2 on your own and get it working. We plan to fully support HTTP2 in EA4.

    Thanks for your interest!
     
  3. Jamira40

    Jamira40 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Thanks for reply.
    Sure I fully understand you. If there will be EA4 compatible with CloudLinux it would be nice. But for now its not.

    Currently we have HTTP2 in front of Apache (Reverse Proxy)

    Oh btw... how about bundle like NGINX + Apache together. Currently non of plugins providing reverse proxy supports https.
    All of us are using it so maybe its time to implement it directly to EA4 :)

    Anyway thank you for answer.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. Jamira40

    Jamira40 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Pointing to 3 years old request is kinda wrong...
    Nothing against but this is essential for hostings, cloudlinux still don't have EA4 and it was announced on Jan 15 2015 and until today there is no support. There is still no support for NGINX Proxy to handle static content. There is no support for CL and EA4.

    So yeah... 3 years just for nginx as a reverse proxy... how hard it must be to implement this when there is tons of 3rd part plugins for this.

    And don't take this wrong but its like "Hey you need CloudLinux! Buy it now!... But sorry you can't use it with latest EA... maybe after a year..."
     
  6. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    Building a new platform isn't very simple. It can take a lot of time, and we're spending this amount of time to ensure it's ready to rock. We haven't added CloudLinux support yet because we're not done fully supporting cPanel & WHM. We're not going to start supporting more platforms when we haven't fully built in support for the original platform is was built for, cPanel & WHM.

    You're right, implementing Nginx isn't very difficult, and lots of plugins to do this. We haven't started working on Nginx yet because we want to get EA4 fully stable before we do.

    I hope this helps.
     
  7. marcus14

    marcus14 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Apache 2.4.18 was released several days ago, any eta for us being able to use in EA?
     
  8. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    We will be releasing 2.4.18 for both EA3 and EA4 early next week.
     
  9. Erel

    Erel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can you provide more information about adding support for HTTP2 with EA3 and Apache 2.4.18?

    Thank you.
     
  10. axwell

    axwell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Jacob,
    i'm also interested in this. How i can enable http2.

    Tried this:

    Added flag --enable-http2=shared to /var/cpanel/easy/apache/rawopts/Apache2_4
    yum install libnghttp2-devel
    updated openssl to OpenSSL 1.0.2e

    Easy apache throws error:

    Making all in http2
    make[2]: Entering directory `/home/cpeasyapache/src/httpd-2.4/modules/http2'
    make[2]: *** No rule to make target `all'. Stop.
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/cpeasyapache/src/httpd-2.4/modules/http2'
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/cpeasyapache/src/httpd-2.4/modules'
    make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    !! 'make -j2' failed with exit code '512' !!
    !! Restoring original working apache !!


    Thank you !
     
  11. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Currently, there looks to be an issue at the moment where upstream Apache provided a .gitignore, which blocked the MakeFile.in in ./modules/http2 from being synced out. We've talked to them about this, and it seemed to be a 'bug' of sorts. We'll be fixing this here in a bit and will have an update out within the next week or so.
     
  12. axwell

    axwell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any update on this?
     
  13. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    We've been working on CloudLinux and EA4 bugs here recently, and haven't had a chance to look at this yet. I'll keep this thread updated once we have more information on this. Thanks for your patience!
     
  14. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Good morning,

    We should be releasing EA 3.32.9 today, that allows users to enable http2 support.

    Code:
    Confirmed with EasyApache v 3.32.9
    root@i-000072c8 [/nghttp2]# httpd -v
    Server version: Apache/2.4.18 (Unix)
    Server built: Jan 11 2016 04:02:16
    Cpanel::Easy::Apache v3.32.9 rev9999
    root@i-000072c8 [/nghttp2]# httpd -M | grep http2
    http2_module (static)
    root@i-000072c8 [/nghttp2]# ls -al /home/cpeasyapache/src/httpd-2.4/modules/http2/Makefile*
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1127 Jan 11 04:00 /home/cpeasyapache/src/httpd-2.4/modules/http2/Makefile
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 845 Sep 7 17:37 /home/cpeasyapache/src/httpd-2.4/modules/http2/Makefile.in
    root@i-000072c8 [/nghttp2]# cat /var/cpanel/easy/apache/rawopts/Apache2_4
    --enable-http2=static
    --with-nghttp2=/opt/nghttp2
    root@i-000072c8 [/nghttp2]# nghttp -uv http://10.17.17.137
    [ 0.003] Connected
    [ 0.004] HTTP Upgrade request
    GET / HTTP/1.1
    Host: 10.17.17.137
    Connection: Upgrade, HTTP2-Settings
    Upgrade: h2c
    HTTP2-Settings: AAMAAABkAAQAAP__
    Accept: */*
    User-Agent: nghttp2/1.2.1
    [ 0.016] HTTP Upgrade response
    HTTP/1.1 101 Switching Protocols
    Upgrade: h2c
    Connection: Upgrade
    [ 0.016] HTTP Upgrade success
    [ 0.016] recv SETTINGS frame <length=6, flags=0x00, stream_id=0>
    (niv=1)
    [SETTINGS_MAX_CONCURRENT_STREAMS(0x03):100]
    [ 0.016] recv WINDOW_UPDATE frame <length=4, flags=0x00, stream_id=0>
    (window_size_increment=2147418112)
    [ 0.016] send SETTINGS frame <length=12, flags=0x00, stream_id=0>
    (niv=2)
    
     
    Erel and Jamira40 like this.
  15. Jamira40

    Jamira40 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Okey now Im so hype and can't wait for it :)
    Looking forward...

    Now just MySQL 5.7 and its done :) ... i thinks its good time for it since 5.5 it no longer supported to there should be 5.6 / 5.7
     
    #15 Jamira40, Jan 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2016
  16. Jamira40

    Jamira40 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    EDIT
    Okey I manage how to compile it. Its working with CL6.
    Now just add Protocols h2 http/1.1 and enable it on all websites
     
    #16 Jamira40, Jan 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2016
  17. Erel

    Erel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do we need to update OpenSSL for this to work?
    My version is:
    OpenSSL 1.0.1e-fips 11 Feb 2013
     
  18. axwell

    axwell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, i have recompiled with h2 and added "Protocols h2 http/1.1" in "Pre VirtualHost Include" but h2 is still not enabled.
    Do i have to do anything else ?
     
  19. Jamira40

    Jamira40 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    axwell same issue. Upgrade header is presented but it wont upgrade connection to HTTP/2.
    Trying to resolve it bot no luck atm...
     
  20. axwell

    axwell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think the issue is caused by openssl, too old and does not support ALPN.
     
Loading...

Share This Page