The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EA3 ModGzip

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by deanstev, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. deanstev

    deanstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know what this means?
    Code:
    -- Begin opt 'Experimental GZIP' --
        -- Begin dryrun test 'Checking for Apache 1' --
        dryrun test 'Checking for Apache 1' did not return true
       
        !! Dry run failed for 'Cpanel::Easy::ModGzip' skipping option !!
    
     
  2. deanstev

    deanstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I've managed to get EA3 running, and it compiles Apache 2.2.6 and PHP 5.2.4

    How can I install Mod_Gzip?
     
  3. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    Mod_Gzip only works with Apache1 You want to use Mod_deflate which is currently not available in EA3 however this has been brought to the developers attention as missing.
     
  4. deanstev

    deanstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahhh OK - so we have to wait for an update? Why does Apache 2 present the option then?

    Also, I've noticed that since I have updated, my SSL certificate sites aren't working..

    https://www.386media.com
     
  5. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    You can add it in manually however cPanel currently does not support it.

    Try restarting the webserver. If that doesnt work please open a support ticket.
     
  6. deanstev

    deanstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK ..

    I've restarted the webserver... still the same error.

    I can't issue a ticket as it's a VPS, and the license isnt from cP direct.

    Anyone any ideas?
     
  7. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    Actually I was mistaken about Mod_deflate not being available yet. It is under the Advanced Configuration -> Apache Built-in Modules -> Deflate
     
  8. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    Please go ahead and open a ticket at: https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/index.cgi?reqtype=tickets

    We are allowing this since it is a new option and can have issues.
     
  9. deanstev

    deanstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've fixed it myself now :)

    Ok, I'll take a look at the mod_deflate thing - how come EA3 still gives the option for mod_gzip if it's not available for AP2.2
     
  10. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    It was an oversight. The developers already know about it and I believe a patch is about to be passed over to QA to verify. It should all be fixed tonight.
     
Loading...

Share This Page