The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EA4 Apache Config -> PHP and SuEXEC not working

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Spork Schivago, Aug 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,

    I have EA4 installed. However, when I go to Apache Configuration and then select PHP and suEXEC Configuration, I receive the following message:

    Code:
    The EasyApache4 Technology Preview needs to be configured via command-line tools. The WHM user interface does not currently support this Technology Preview.
    
    I've searched the threads and seen some other people had this error message but I didn't see any fixes. I reran /scripts/migrate_ea3_to_ea4 --run --force

    That didn't seem to help at all. Originally, I changed my umask settings but have them back as the defaults. I'm wondering if it's a permission issue somewhere. Any suggestions? Thanks!
     
  2. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    This UI is not for use with EasyApache 4. Once on EasyApache 4, you'd use the MultiPHP Manager UI in WHM to control your PHP environment.

    I hope this helps!
     
    Spork Schivago likes this.
  3. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you. So is there a reason I still see it and is there a way to remove it so I don't see it anymore?

    Thanks!
     
  4. brianjking

    brianjking Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    screenshot8-9-1612.45.png
     
    Spork Schivago likes this.
  5. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    We have case CPANEL-7540 open to hide this. Thanks for the report!
     
    Spork Schivago likes this.
  6. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you! I will keep an eye open on the changelog file to see if there's any CPANEL-7540 listed. Once CPANEL-7540 is implemented, will we have an option to hide it or will it be completely removed? The message that is displayed is a bit misleading. It implies, at least to me, there's some script I'm supposed to execute from the command line before I can use that feature.
     
  7. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hrmm, I only have CGI or None for my handlers. Wonder where suPHP went.
     
  8. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I figured it out. I have mpm-itk compiled into Apache. I was thinking of switching to suPHP but just read that mpm-itk provides the security of suexec and suphp with much greater performance than either of those solutions, so I think I'll stick with mpm-itk and drop suPHP.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    This case ensures the option is not displayed in Web Host Manager when EasyApache 4 is enabled (per the existence of the /etc/cpanel/ea4/is_ea4 file).

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page