Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

EA4 Apache Config -> PHP and SuEXEC not working

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Spork Schivago, Aug 9, 2016.

  1. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have EA4 installed. However, when I go to Apache Configuration and then select PHP and suEXEC Configuration, I receive the following message:

    Code:
    The EasyApache4 Technology Preview needs to be configured via command-line tools. The WHM user interface does not currently support this Technology Preview.
    
    I've searched the threads and seen some other people had this error message but I didn't see any fixes. I reran /scripts/migrate_ea3_to_ea4 --run --force

    That didn't seem to help at all. Originally, I changed my umask settings but have them back as the defaults. I'm wondering if it's a permission issue somewhere. Any suggestions? Thanks!
     
  2. JacobPerkins

    JacobPerkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    This UI is not for use with EasyApache 4. Once on EasyApache 4, you'd use the MultiPHP Manager UI in WHM to control your PHP environment.

    I hope this helps!
     
    Spork Schivago likes this.
  3. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you. So is there a reason I still see it and is there a way to remove it so I don't see it anymore?

    Thanks!
     
  4. brianjking

    brianjking Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    screenshot8-9-1612.45.png
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Spork Schivago likes this.
  5. JacobPerkins

    JacobPerkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    We have case CPANEL-7540 open to hide this. Thanks for the report!
     
    Spork Schivago likes this.
  6. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you! I will keep an eye open on the changelog file to see if there's any CPANEL-7540 listed. Once CPANEL-7540 is implemented, will we have an option to hide it or will it be completely removed? The message that is displayed is a bit misleading. It implies, at least to me, there's some script I'm supposed to execute from the command line before I can use that feature.
     
  7. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hrmm, I only have CGI or None for my handlers. Wonder where suPHP went.
     
  8. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I figured it out. I have mpm-itk compiled into Apache. I was thinking of switching to suPHP but just read that mpm-itk provides the security of suexec and suphp with much greater performance than either of those solutions, so I think I'll stick with mpm-itk and drop suPHP.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    This case ensures the option is not displayed in Web Host Manager when EasyApache 4 is enabled (per the existence of the /etc/cpanel/ea4/is_ea4 file).

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice