The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

eAccelerator

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by apc1, Aug 18, 2005.

  1. apc1

    apc1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    has anyone installed eAccelerator:

    eAccelerator

    If so, has it proved to be worth it in terms of increased PHP performance?

    Thanks.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    A search on these very forums for eAccelerator shows that plenty have, and with effective results.
     
  3. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I use eAccelerator in several machines, however take note that it is NOT compatable with Zend Optimizer. If you need Zend Optimizer to run Zend encoded files, you can't use eAccelerator. If you don't need ZO, then eAccelerator is much better IMHO.
     
  4. pross

    pross Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  5. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
  6. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We have both Eaccelerator & Zend Optimizer installed with no problems.

    It is well worth it and id highly recommend installing both to anyone, weve seen increases by up to 400%

    Blue|Fusion:

    Have you added it to your php.ini file as a zend extension or php extension?

    When we first installed it it was added as a zend extension and we did have problems but since adding it as a php extension both run together just fine :

    Add this to the bottom of your php.ini file to run it as a php extension:

    Code:
    extension="/usr/local/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20020429/eaccelerator.so"
    eaccelerator.shm_size="16"
    eaccelerator.cache_dir="/tmp/eaccelerator"
    eaccelerator.enable="1" 
    eaccelerator.optimizer="1"
    eaccelerator.check_mtime="1"
    eaccelerator.debug="0"
    eaccelerator.filter=""
    eaccelerator.shm_max="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_ttl="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_prune_period="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_only="0"
    eaccelerator.compress="1"
    eaccelerator.compress_level="9"
     
  7. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I did have it as a Zend extension, however when I change it to a php extension, it fails to load completely.

    I even took out Zend Optimizer and Zend Extension Manager and tried it. Still no luck. I tried it on PHP 4.4.0 and PHP 5.0.4.
     
  8. elix

    elix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That's the problem, it does not work w/ PHP 4.40 according to the testing I did.

    BTW, I have eAccelerator running w/ Zend Optimizer and the thing works magic.

    Regards,
     
    #8 elix, Aug 18, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2005
  9. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    As long as it works as a Zend extension, I'm fine with not having ZO installed (as long as I don't have Zend encoded files running). So I'll stick with just eAccelerator for now until it has better compatability with PHP5 and then install it as a php extension and not a zend extension.
     
  10. apc1

    apc1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks.

    Is it best to install it from the binaries for RHEL 3 or from the source?

    Are there any installation instructions for the binaries anywhere?
     
  11. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Assuming you're using cPanel, you'll need to compile from source.
     
  12. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Also, I found out how to get ZO and eA working together:

    From http://eaccelerator.net/IniSettingsUk :
    And works fine loaded as Zend extension in both PHP 5.0.4 and PHP 4.4.0.
     
  13. patryk

    patryk Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What about eAccelerator and suexec together?
     
  14. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I'm not sure about that. I don't use PHPsuexec. You can try it and if it doesn't work, just comment out or remove the eaccelerator lines in php.ini and restart httpd again. Won't be even a minute of downtime if it doesn't work.
     
  15. patryk

    patryk Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok. I will check it out today.
     
  16. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    eAccelerator works beautifully with Zend and I have this combo on all servers since we have hundreds of databases running per server. The performance is outstanding and we never experience MySQL "too many connections' or any MySQL errors or high loads anymore. Extremely efficiient and highly recommended.

    The tutorial I always use for perfect installs everytime is here:
    http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75878

    Install Zend after installing eAccelerator thats important
    /scripts/installzendopt*

    Runs great on RH9 and RHE3
    I would suggest optimizing your my.cnf as well as follows for max performance without max resource usage:

    edit /etc/my.cnf

    The below is a good modification for large, active servers with many of MySQL processes going on at anytime:

    Code:
    [mysqld]
    datadir=/var/lib/mysql
    skip-locking
    skip-innodb
    query_cache_limit=1M
    query_cache_size=32M
    query_cache_type=1
    max_connections=500
    interactive_timeout=100
    wait_timeout=100
    connect_timeout=10
    thread_cache_size=128
    key_buffer=16M
    join_buffer=1M
    max_allowed_packet=16M
    table_cache=1024
    record_buffer=1M
    sort_buffer_size=2M
    read_buffer_size=2M
    max_connect_errors=10
    # Try number of CPU's*2 for thread_concurrency
    thread_concurrency=2
    myisam_sort_buffer_size=64M
    #log-bin
    server-id=1
    
    [mysql.server]
    user=mysql
    basedir=/var/lib
    
    [safe_mysqld]
    err-log=/var/log/mysqld.log
    pid-file=/var/lib/mysql/mysql.pid
    open_files_limit=8192
    [mysqldump]
    quick
    max_allowed_packet=16M
    
    [mysql]
    no-auto-rehash
    #safe-updates
    
    [isamchk]
    key_buffer=64M
    sort_buffer=64M
    read_buffer=16M
    write_buffer=16M
    
    [myisamchk]
    key_buffer=64M
    sort_buffer=64M
    read_buffer=16M
    write_buffer=16M
    
    [mysqlhotcopy]
    interactive-timeout
    If you get all the above correctly running you should have no problems with resource usage as far as MySQL and php is concerned and this will also allow you to raise profilts by being able to support more accounts on one server.
     
    #16 Planet_Master, Aug 21, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2005
  17. apc1

    apc1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Thanks for that.

    What if Zend is already installed?
     
  18. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    Just re-install after eAccelerator (run the script), really if its already there I dont think its an issue but I do it anyway to be on the safe side. The after part is for fresh installs with Zend not already present more importantly.
     
  19. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    If ZO is already installed, you can also just open up /usr/local/lib/php.ini with your favorite text editor and place the eccelerator lines ABOVE the Zend lines.
     
  20. benito

    benito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mar del Plata - Argentina
    I cant get work on my box with cpanel+php5 the eaccelerator. Anyone can write a howto for cpanel+php5 ?

    Thanks in advance.
     

Share This Page