The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Easiest way to move accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jhyland87, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. jhyland87

    jhyland87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey guys, so I got a new server, it has cPanel/WHM on it as well.

    I need to find the best way to move clients from 1 server, to the next, without having them change nameservers, or have downtime...

    Here is what I was thinking, let me know if its wrong. Clients are moving from svr1. to svr2. current example nameservers are ns1.name.com and ns2.name.com

    1) setup svr2 with ns1/2.name.com, assign IP's and A records to them.
    2) Transfer accounts via WHM
    3) Go into my registrar, change the IP on the nameservers

    Is that the easiest way?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Lots of threads on this, try searching for the term minimal downtime.
     
  3. InstaCarma_Tech

    InstaCarma_Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Assuming that the new name server IPs will be different from the existing ones, I would suggest you to :

    1. Add two more name servers ( ns3 & ns4 ) at the registrar and assign the new IPs to them.
    2. Transfer the accounts via WHM
    3. Once everything is done, remove ns1 and ns2 at the registrar end.
     
  4. rgpayne

    rgpayne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas

    Easiest, from experience ......

    Change ns2 to secondary IP on New server
    rsync your backup directory to new server( be sure you have current backups )
    edit zone record to have SOA as the ns2, lower retry to 120, expire to 7200
    new server multiple restore feature....,restore all
    go to registrar and change ns1 to new server primary
    wait 2-3 days disable old server
     
  5. PlatinumServerM

    PlatinumServerM Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There will be "no" downtime as long as both servers remain up until propagation is done. Just copy the sites using whm, setup the nameservers and change the ips at the registrar. Nobody will have to change their nameservers and there won't be any downtime.
     
  6. jhyland87

    jhyland87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So I am trying to transfer accounts... it keeps failing if the account is large.

    I wouldnt mind having to back the account up, scp it over, then restoring it, but would I have to manually change all the DNS?

    Under the "Streaming Homedir From Source Server", it just says
     
  7. jhyland87

    jhyland87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok, fixed that issue, but why is it that if I do a single account, it will change the DNS on the src server, as well as suspend it, but when I do multiple accounts... it doesnt?..
     
Loading...

Share This Page