The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Easy Apache Profile issues

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by dwykofka, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I wanted to download the profile from 1 server and load it on a new server.

    When I download the profile the file name is _main.yaml

    when I try to upload that to the new server it says invalid file name.

    Ideas?
     
  2. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Where exactly are you getting the invalid file error? When you FTP upload this?
     
  4. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I hit the browse option on the desktination server and select the file. then when I attempt to proceed I get the error.
     
  5. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    #1) You are using

    WHM -> Apache Update -> Upload Profile

    correct?

    #2) URL of File field?

    #3) What URL or what filename is in the filed?

    > I wanted to download the profile from 1 server and load it on a new server.
    > When I download the profile the file name is _main.yaml

    You can either use the "save as" functionalityon the "Advanced Screen" and download that one.

    or

    Rename it since that name is not allowed.

    The first option is the best since you won;t have to know the name restrictions.
     
  6. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Both servers are running the exact same version of cpanel.

    Here are the steps that I am following...

    Source Server
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Destination Server
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Try renaming to something other than _main.yaml as _main may be a reserved profile name
     
  8. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    nope..

    I tried _1.yaml and 1.yaml bit gave me the same error..

    I think the profile system is a great idea but it really needs some work. Besides the fact that it's not actually working it seems a bit clunky.

    I think it would be great to roll up a config on one box toss it on our intranet and have our cpanel boxes pull their config from it. This way when we decide to install a particular technology we can roll it out to all of our servers.
     
  9. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What OS are you using to download? It might be corrupting the file type. I just tested it and it works fine for me with _main.yaml

    [​IMG]
     
  10. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    XP

    if windows corrupts the file maybe there needs to be a change made, most people dont use linux for desktops.
     
  11. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can you email me the file after you download it so I can see what happened. My email is dave (at) cpanel dot net.

    Of note: I don't use linux for my desktop either.

    Thanks
     
  12. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Will do, sorry to jump to conclusions there..
    The png led me in that direction :)

    Sending now.
     
  13. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just tested on XP and it doesn't like the file. I've put in a bug report to zip the file before download which should make it play nice with all OSes. We wouldn't want you to have to upgrade to Vista ;P
     
  14. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    actually xp was the second os I tried.
    I had issues in Vista x64 too.

    can you tell me where the file is stored so I can pull it manually?
     
  15. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    BTW Thanks for you help on this one :)
     
  16. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yea, windows is bunking the file on download. We should have it fixed soon. Until then, you can scp the file or grab it from: /var/cpanel/easy/apache/profile/custom/
     
  17. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just another tip:

    You really should use the 'save as' feature. The reason is that you can identify it with information that tells you what its about and won't get lost with every other nebulous "_main.yaml" file.

    For example, try this on the "Advanced" screen:

    File name:feel_good_inc_standard
    Display Name: Standard default for "Feel Good, Inc."
    Description: This profile builds apache, PHP, and other modules to work inline with our automation and customer relation tools as well as support all of our hosting plans and traffic monitoring setup.

    Then it will show up in the interface for reuse, be explicit about what it is, and can more easily be distirbuted as per the docs.

    case # ?

    The error was 'Invalid file name' which is based on whats in the form field. If the file was corrupted then you'd get 'File does not appear to be YAML format.' or maybe 'YAML is not a hashref'. That being the case I don't think its a matter of 'windows is bunking the file on download'.

    If we find that it somehow is, then I'm also not sure that zipping it is the best way to get windows to work with simple plain text files. The reason is that if Windows doesnt properly handle newlines like it should then when unzipped it will still drop the ball. A better solution would be to modify the text to send windows style newlines since Linux, OS X, and every other OS is able to auto handle the 'multiple OS newline issue' and actually *work* with simple plain text Ascii files.

    This is exactly what is being send to the browser, no muss no fuss (maybe windows need more or different headers?)

    Content-Disposition: attachment; filename="whatever.yaml"
    Content-type: text/plain

    ---
    [plain text yaml here]
     
  18. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    At dinner currently, if you have this problem then use Firefox or a real browser in the meantime. shouldn't be long...
     
  19. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    After looking into this I've discovered that Windows downloads it ok, its only IE (not firefox or any other good browser) that uploads it wrong. Fortunately it'll be fairly easy to detect IE's buggy, RFC-violating, no-standards-compliant-but-whats-new behavior and work around it.

    I'll post here when the workaround is published :)
     
  20. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    #18 an #19 are backwards, weird..
     
Loading...

Share This Page