The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EasyApache 4 checklist

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by mickalo, Apr 27, 2017.

  1. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    hello,

    I've reading through the docs and some of the recent posting here regarding upgrading to EasyApache 4 soon. Would like to double check a few items before we proceed with the upgrade.

    We would need to upgrade from Apache 2.2 to 2.4 and where are currently running PHP 5.6.30 so we should be good there.

    1) Do we need to make any changes to continue to use SSI we have a couple of accounts that use it.
    2) Will we need to change anything to continue to use .htaccess for password protected directories?
    3)Will we still be able to execute CGI scripts outside the cgi-bin folder?
    4)All our SSL certs are from Godaddy will there be any issues with those?
    5)We don't use Cloudlnux or Outside vendor Modsecurity just the std., Modsecurity2
    6) Do the location of the domlogs change after installing Easyapache 4?

    We run only stable releases for nightly updates.

    Appreciate any feedback for changes that maybe need to keep downtime to a min.

    Thanks
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,186
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @mickalo,

    Could you verify if you took any special steps to setup SSI for these accounts?

    These rules will carry over and continue to work on EasyApache 4.

    Please see the following document for information about how this works:

    How to Enable Additional CGI Scripts - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    SSL certificates should continue to work without manual intervention.

    Yes, it's:

    /var/log/apache2/domlogs/

    Let us know if you have any additional questions.

    Thank you.
     
  3. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    regrading item#1 for SSI all that was done was add the following into the .htaccess file:
    Code:
    AddHandler server-parsed .htm
    thank you for the addition information will be planning on the switching to Easy4 very soon.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,186
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    This is the same entry that's added to the .htaccess file when using the "Apache Handlers" option in cPanel on systems using EasyApache 4. Thus, you should not have to manually edit those entries.

    Thank you.
     
  5. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    one other question about EasyApache 3 profile if we want to use the existing profile with Easyapache 4 do we need to use the --install_profile argument or does it do this automatically ?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,186
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    got it thanks allot :)
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  8. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    well got one other question about Easyapache 4 as will need to install apache 2.4 prior to changing from EA3 to EA4 so is it recommend in EA3 to us the Basic Apache 2.4 Profile or just update our existing custom profile to build apache 2.4 instead of 2.2 ?

    Want to migrate to EA4 this week sometime hopefully.

    thanks,
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,186
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can use your existing custom profile and switch Apache from 2.2 to 2.4.

    Thank you.
     
  10. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    ok thanks that's what I thought.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page