The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EasyApache builds fail

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by mvandemar, Jan 22, 2017.

  1. mvandemar

    mvandemar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    I keep getting failures on EasyApache, and it looks like it might be from the update server. My client is on WHM 56.0 (build 43). When I run it through the interface, the last lines before the fail message are:

    Code:
        -- Begin step 'Checking for libxml2 requirements' --
    !! Downloading '/var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/OptLib/libxml2.pm.tar.gz' !!
    
    !! Start: Silent httpupdate request !!
    
    !! File downloaded from 204.10.37.146 and written to /var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/OptLib/libxml2.pm.tar.gz
    !! End: Silent httpupdate request !!
    
    !! SHA512 checksum mismatch for: /var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/OptLib/libxml2.pm.tar.gz !!
    !! Restoring original working apache !!
    !! Executing '/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/initsslhttpd' !!
    !! Restarting 'httpd' ... !!
    !! 'httpd' restart complete. !!
    
    When I look, there is no libxml2.pm.tar.gz in that directory. I thought maybe if I ran it via command line I would have better luck, but the error there is:

    Code:
    Checking that all tarballs are present and up to date.
    !! Downloading '/var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/Apache/Fastcgi.pm.tar.gz' !!
    !! Downloading '/var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/Apache/PHPAsUser.pm.tar.gz' !!
    !! Downloading '/var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/Apache/2_2.pm.tar.gz' !!
    !! SHA512 checksum mismatch for: /var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/Apache/2_2.pm.tar.gz !!
    !! Restoring original working apache !!
    !! Executing '/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/initsslhttpd' !!
    !! Restarting 'httpd' ... !!
    !! 'httpd' restart complete. !!
    
    And when I look, again there is no 2_2.pm.tar.gz in that directory. Thoughts?

    Thank you.

    -Michael
     
  2. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are running an older build of the cpanel that might be causing the issue so you can try running /scripts/upcp first and then running easy apache
     
  3. mvandemar

    mvandemar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    No go:

    Code:
    [2017-01-22 22:26:35 -0500] W NOTE: A system upgrade was not possible due to the following blockers:
    [2017-01-22 22:26:35 -0500] W [FATAL] -
    [2017-01-22 22:26:35 -0500] W [THE CPANEL & WHM UPDATE CANNOT PROCEED BECAUSE THE FOLLOWING FEATURE IS OUT OF DATE: SUEXEC
    [2017-01-22 22:26:35 -0500] W [YOU MUST EITHER REBUILD APACHE WITH EASYAPACHE 3 OR MIGRATE TO EASYAPACHE 4:
    [2017-01-22 22:26:35 -0500] W [/USR/LOCAL/CPANEL/SCRIPTS/EASYAPACHE --BUILD
    [2017-01-22 22:26:35 -0500] W [OR:
    [2017-01-22 22:26:35 -0500] W [/USR/LOCAL/CPANEL/SCRIPTS/MIGRATE_EA3_TO_EA4 --RUN
    
    I am not willing to switch to 4 yet, if at all avoidable, since that is still in beta and this is a high traffic production server. Any other ideas? It seems like an endless loop at this point.

    Thanks.

    -Michael

    Edit: and of course right when I need help, the forums ssl cert expires, reducing the eyes on this thread.
     
    #3 mvandemar, Jan 22, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2017
  4. Anoop P Alias

    Anoop P Alias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kochi,Kerala,India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Apache 2.2 is pretty outdated.EasyApache4 being unstable is basically FUD.

    You should switch to EA4 and a newer version of PHP and opt for nginx or litespeed for heavy traffic websites.
     
  5. mvandemar

    mvandemar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Current Status of EasyApache 4 - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    That doc states that it is stable as of WHM 58. I am on 56. Are you saying that document from cpanel is FUD? You can say for certain that an in place upgrade to EasyApache 4 would not break anything? Are you also trying to say that it would fix the underlying issue?

    -Michael
     
  6. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    I would not upgrade to EA4 on version 56. I would just re-run the Apache build as it states. The error you're getting from EA3 states that the file it downloaded was not what it expected. It's probably a bad mirror you're pointing to. Try re-running EA3 again.
     
  7. mvandemar

    mvandemar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    I have run it 5 times, 3 via the interface and twice command line. I get different fail points when I use the different methods, but each way the fail is bad checksum (and when I look, no actual file). How do I switch the mirror? I tried Googling for instructions and a list of mirrors but to no avail. Is 204.10.37.146 a bad mirror?

    -Michael
     
  8. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    It's quite possible. You can add 'EASOURCES=$mirror_ip' to '/etc/cpsources.conf' and that should point EA3 to use whatever mirror you need.

    Try one of these mirrors:
    Code:
    ➜  ~ host httpupdate.cpanel.net
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 69.50.192.73
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 216.38.56.98
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 72.29.88.74
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 69.72.212.10
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 208.43.129.162
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 85.13.201.2
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 70.87.220.252
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 208.78.42.4
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 74.50.120.123
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 94.75.231.77
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 69.72.212.11
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 67.227.128.74
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 208.74.121.37
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 204.10.37.146
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 208.109.109.239
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 209.85.80.214
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 67.205.110.4
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 208.74.121.39
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 66.23.237.210
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 67.222.0.10
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 208.43.108.66
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 69.73.140.17
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 76.76.26.254
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 83.170.94.2
    httpupdate.cpanel.net has address 67.159.2.2
     
  9. mvandemar

    mvandemar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Ok, did you realize that the mirror that you are saying might be bad is in the list you gave me? :)

    Trying another now, thanks.

    -Michael
     
  10. mvandemar

    mvandemar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    It compiled, but now I am getting an internal server error. Damn.

    Edit: it was something in the php.ini file in the public_html folder that the server didn't like with the new php. Disabling that fixed it. I will try updating cpanel during non-peak hours. Thank you for your help.

    -Michael
     
    #10 mvandemar, Jan 23, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2017
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Let us know if you encounter any additional issues with the next cPanel update.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page