The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Easyapache without cpanel?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by cDizzle, Feb 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cDizzle

    cDizzle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I run a server from layeredtech with whm/apache and love the easyapache script. I do local testing on my computer, which I just switched over to linux (CentOS4 first, now FC4 since everything is made for FC4 :p) and now I dont have the all in ones like easyphp, or wamp like I did on windows, and I want like all the functions I did when on windows such as gd, ftp, sockets, etc. I want to build PHP 5.1.2 with gd, ftp, sockets, curl, etc; And Apache 1.3.34 with mod_rewrite for sure! and perl and all so I can run my CGIProxy (so I can get anywhere while at school :p)

    Anyways, I dont want to pay big $$$ to run CPanel on my home computer and that is obviously not my best option, but would like to use easyapache to compile these. Is there a way to get a hold of easyapache without cpanel? or if I download a cpanel trial, when that trial expires, besides no access to whm/cpanel, could it cause any other problems?


    One more thing, before I just reformatted again to FC4 (I only reformatted /dev/hda<1-3> and have all my other partitions mounted in /mnt/store<1-3|windows>. I tried to mount /mnt/store2/wd (my webdesign and coding directory) to /shared/wd (/shared is 777 and writable by all (just me and root which is me anyways :p)) and it worked fine, I do dir /shared/wd, lists NP at all. Having said that, I set that to my DocRoot (actuall /shared/wd/sites since thats where my actual testing sites are kept) and it would die on startup (apache that is) and say that the documentroot must be a directory (in other words it wasnt reading the directory). This one had me in stiches for hours and still no luck (havent tried to mess w/ it since)

    Anyways, the apache1.3.34/php5.1.2 is my first concern, the mount thing im sure i'll figure out.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think that if you would have access to some one that has cPanel installed, you could get a easyapache replica from him.Although you need to check for some files, it can be done. ;)
     
  3. cDizzle

    cDizzle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i run a server, so getting a copy of it wouldnt be the problem, it is at /scripts/easyapache; but there are other files it may depend on. I will download that script and try to run it see if I cant get it to work, I seriously doubt it though. Is easyapache made my cpanel? or does cpanel just use it? and if they didnt make it . . where could I get it from?
     
  4. tuxdesk

    tuxdesk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Easyapache is nothing in cpanel server;'s. By using easyapache script you can easily recompile apache and php with gd,curl etc etc.
     
  5. cDizzle

    cDizzle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    completely legally?

    anyways, I tarred /scripts and downloaded and extracted to /scripts and now my /scripts is just like my servers. I also created /home/cpapachebuild

    I run /scripts/easyapache and select opion 6 (expert mode) and...
    Code:
    ---->6
    make lxdialog...(clean)....Done
    make lxdialog.......Done
    dialog.h:29:20: error: curses.h: No such file or directory
    In file included from lxdialog.c:22:
    dialog.h:127: error: syntax error before ‘use_colors’
    dialog.h:127: warning: type defaults to ‘int’ in declaration of ‘use_colors’
    dialog.h:127: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
    dialog.h:128: error: syntax error before ‘use_shadow’
    dialog.h:128: warning: type defaults to ‘int’ in declaration of ‘use_shadow’
    dialog.h:128: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
    dialog.h:130: error: syntax error before ‘attributes’
    dialog.h:130: warning: type defaults to ‘int’ in declaration of ‘attributes’
    dialog.h:130: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
    dialog.h:143: error: syntax error before ‘*’ token
    dialog.h:143: warning: function declaration isn’t a prototype
    dialog.h:146: error: syntax error before ‘*’ token
    dialog.h:146: warning: function declaration isn’t a prototype
    dialog.h:147: error: syntax error before ‘*’ token
    dialog.h:147: warning: function declaration isn’t a prototype
    dialog.h:148: error: syntax error before ‘*’ token
    dialog.h:149: warning: function declaration isn’t a prototype
    dialog.h:150: error: syntax error before ‘*’ token
    dialog.h:150: warning: function declaration isn’t a prototype
    lxdialog.c: In function ‘main’:
    lxdialog.c:97: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘refresh’
    lxdialog.c:131: error: ‘stdscr’ undeclared (first use in this function)
    lxdialog.c:131: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
    lxdialog.c:131: error: for each function it appears in.)
    lxdialog.c:131: error: ‘LINES’ undeclared (first use in this function)
    lxdialog.c:131: error: ‘COLS’ undeclared (first use in this function)
    lxdialog.c: In function ‘Usage’:
    lxdialog.c:145: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘fprintf’
    lxdialog.c:145: warning: incompatible implicit declaration of built-in function ‘fprintf’
    lxdialog.c:145: error: ‘stderr’ undeclared (first use in this function)
    lxdialog.c: In function ‘j_inputbox’:
    lxdialog.c:211: warning: incompatible implicit declaration of built-in function ‘fprintf’
    lxdialog.c:211: error: ‘stderr’ undeclared (first use in this function)
    lxdialog.c:211: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 2 of ‘fprintf’ differ in signedness
    make: *** [lxdialog.o] Error 1
    when I select option 5 i get errors as well, just not as bad . . a few things build, but not much.

    installs expat just fine;
    downloads and untars apache; runs a configure on it and says done, then does a configure on mod_ssl and then again on apache (as below)
    Code:
    configure mod_ssl-2.8.25-1.3.34...(--with-apache=../apache_1.3.34 --with-ssl=/usr --enable-module=expires --enable-shared=expires --add-module=../mod_frontpage.c --enable-module=rewrite --enable-shared=rewrite --enable-suexec --suexec-logfile=/usr/local/apache/logs/suexec_log --suexec-caller=nobody --suexec-uidmin=100 --suexec-gidmin=100 --suexec-docroot=/ --suexec-userdir=public_html).....................Done
    configure apache_1.3.34...(--enable-module=ssl --enable-module=expires --enable-shared=expires --add-module=../mod_frontpage.c --enable-module=rewrite --enable-shared=rewrite --enable-suexec --suexec-logfile=/usr/local/apache/logs/suexec_log --suexec-caller=nobody --suexec-uidmin=100 --suexec-gidmin=100 --suexec-docroot=/ --suexec-userdir=public_html)............Done
    make -j 1 apache_1.3.34.......Done
    make[1]: *** [build-std] Error 2
    make: *** [build] Error 2
    make apache_1.3.34...(install)....Done
    make[2]: *** [build-std] Error 2
    make[1]: *** [build] Error 2
    make: *** [install-all] Error 2
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd: line 89: /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd: No such file or directory
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd could not be started
    then it downloads and install libmcrypt and it goes ok;
    then it downloads php4 and configures it and . . :
    Code:
    Untarring php....Done
    Applying CURL curl_formfree patch
    patching file ext/curl/curl.c
    Hunk #1 succeeded at 590 (offset 45 lines).
    Hunk #2 succeeded at 904 (offset 19 lines).
    configure php-4.4.1...(--with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --prefix=/usr/local --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --with-gd --with-jpeg-dir=/usr/local --with-png-dir=/usr --with-xpm-dir=/usr/X11R6 --with-mcrypt --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-ttf --with-freetype-dir=/usr --enable-gd-native-ttf --enable-versioning --with-zlib)........Done
    configure: error: cannot find output from lex; giving up
    make -j 1 php-4.4.1...(clean)...Done
    Can't open Makefile: No such file or directory.
    make -j 1 php-4.4.1......Done
    make php-4.4.1...(install)...Done
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd: line 89: /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd: No such file or directory
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd could not be started
    configure php-4.4.1...(--prefix=/usr --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --with-gd --with-jpeg-dir=/usr/local --with-png-dir=/usr --with-xpm-dir=/usr/X11R6 --with-mcrypt --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-ttf --with-freetype-dir=/usr --enable-gd-native-ttf --enable-versioning --with-zlib)........Done
    configure: error: cannot find output from lex; giving up
    make -j 1 php-4.4.1...(clean)....Done
    Can't open Makefile: No such file or directory.
    make -j 1 php-4.4.1......Done
    make php-4.4.1...(install)...Done
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
    PHP version file has been updated to
    Unrecognized character \x1F at /scripts/AcctLock.pm line 1.
    Compilation failed in require at /scripts/checkallowoverride line 9.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /scripts/checkallowoverride line 9.
    /etc/wwwacct.conf not found
    Executing /scripts/postbuildapache (if exists)...Done
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd: line 89: /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd: No such file or directory
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd could not be started
    Waiting for httpd to restart..............finished.
    
    
    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
    [root@cdizzle cpapachebuild]#
    hope thats enough info for someone to help me :confused:
     
  6. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try to start with /scripts/easyapache.
    Do a nano /scripts/easyapache/ and what do you get ?
    The dependecies.

    nano /scripts/easyapache/
    and you get :

    #!/usr/bin/perl

    system("/scripts/checkccompiler");
    system("rm -f /scripts/buildapache.sea");
    system("rm -f /scripts/buildapache.sea.1");
    system("rm -rf /scripts/buildapache");
    system("rm -rf /home/cpapachebuild");
    mkdir("/home/cpapachebuild",0700);
    chdir("/home/cpapachebuild");
    if (-e "/usr/bin/fetch") {
    system("fetch http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea");
    } else {
    system("wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea");
    }
    system("sh buildapache.sea");
    system("/scripts/restartsrv httpd");

    So you need to check for each file what dependecies it has.It`s not just moving a file.
     
  7. cDizzle

    cDizzle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    you will forever burn in h377 for posting cpanels code :p

    Anyways, is it legal to post this specific code ? or ?

    Anyways, a big question is . . Is easyapache made by and specifically for cpanel or is it widely available.

    I can use yum to install php and apache any mysql, but obviously wont be quite the sweet setup i want, but does anyone know how i can build from source with like all them modules installed too!? And this sounds like a good idea to start looking throuh the cpanel scripts (if this is legal lol) and find their configure commands for stuff
     
  8. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think that once you start paying for a license, you can take a peek in the source code.I`m not the only one that posted cpanel code.
     
  9. ShockHosts

    ShockHosts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can't you compile Apache in WHM?
     
  10. cDizzle

    cDizzle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    of course you can, i think you missed the point :p

    I wanted to compile it without cpanel, on my own local computer for a testing server. I used the mysqlup script (modifed of course to force 4.1 since there is no cpanel configurtion files or nothin) and that helped i gues :p then I compiled apache 1.3.34 from source, and php 5.1.2 from source which I am having some font issues, i think with the freetype libs i have maybe, will figure that all out tho :p
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Simply put: cPanel code is copright and cannot be used unless licensed on the server for which it is licensed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page