The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EasyApache

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Luke Carrier, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. Luke Carrier

    Luke Carrier Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey,

    Anyone else finding EasyApache completely and utterly useless recently? We've had it fail 4 builds one after the other today, and resorted to removing half of our features from PHP and Apache to make it work - including sacrificing Mod Perl and Tomcat, not to mention Mono. Prior to PHP 5.2.10 being 'supported' by EA3, we had no issues with this. Also, if I compile with PHP 5.2.9 or 5.2.8 with otherwise the same options, all works fine.

    I looked into this in more depth in some FUBAR installs left behind by EA, and it seems as though it is failing to build/move the Apache modules to the correct directory - or at least is too retarded to rebuild httpd.conf properly. I ran /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf manually too, it just broke it further.

    Any ideas, or should I just compile them manually? EasyApache does not deserve its name, in my opinion. At all. It is failware.
     
  2. txspaderz

    txspaderz Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Have you tried putting in a cPanel support ticket so their developers can look at it? If not, that's kinda failware since you posted this to complain rather than have their technical team look at it. ;)
     
    #2 txspaderz, Jul 13, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2009
  3. john_collector

    john_collector Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The same here

    We have the same problems with EasyApache since upgrading to Build 4762. EasyApache was not able to compile PHP 5.2.10 with our original settings used for PHP 5.2.9. Funny thing is, it was not even able to compile original PHP 5.2.9.

    The error message was something like this:



    Two other admins reported exactly the same problem, so I think this is cPanel EasyApache issue that needs to be addressed at cPanel company.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If anyone is experiencing issues with PHP 5.2.10, I recommend the following.

    1. First read jdlightsey's post on PHP 5.2.10 posted at:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/php-5-2-10-a-123289.html#post540537

    2. If that does not resolve the issue for you, please inform our technical analysts of the issue you are experiencing:

    http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit

    Our technical analysts can determine the causes of the issues being experienced and file reports with QA and development if such reports are needed. This puts us in a better position to properly fix any issues being experienced.

    Thank you!
     
  6. Luke Carrier

    Luke Carrier Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I never bother contacting support any more, we generally resolve issues faster through posting on various forums anyway. Complementary support isn't bad in comparison to most other companies (it's generally very good from cPanel) but we like to know exactly what's being done to our servers; we don't always get that here.
     
  7. Luke Carrier

    Luke Carrier Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Strange. Anyone having this problem should run /scripts/upcp as it seems some updates have been made to the CURRENT tree - using exactly the same profile worked fine following this (Mod Mono, PHP 5.2.10, Tomcat, pretty much every addon available plus Suhosin and some minor extensions).

    Weird.
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    While EasyApache does make use of code functions within cPanel, EasyApache is separate from the cPanel version/build. Unless your version of CURRENT was extremely old the only thing changed in the newest CURRENT version that is remotely related to EasyApache is a fix for PHPConfig, which is purely a UI fix.

    Your frustration with support in not receiving enough information regarding changes to your server is understandable. On the flip side we appreciate people in your situation opening tickets so we can determine exactly why EasyApache became "failware" in your circumstance. Even access to the various EasyApache build logs can be helpful.
     
  9. Luke Carrier

    Luke Carrier Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In that case, I have no idea about what resolved the issue. I did manually remove a tonne of old Apache installs from /usr/local which I presume were archived working installs created by EasyApache; though I doub highly that his is the issue.

    We update cPanel every week generally, so I doubt our install is that old. I believe it was updated on all of our servers (including DNS only) on either Monday or Tuesday (all run CURRENT), so I doubt our build is that old.

    Next time we have issues, should I just give you guys the build AP ticket number and leave it with you to look into fixing the issue? I believe you already get sent the logs as part of the build process anyway...
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that should be sufficient to get started. If we require more information to give context to the logs would you be willing to open a support ticket on the afflicted system? The purpose would be to examine the system where the failure is happening, not for modifying the system.
     
  11. Luke Carrier

    Luke Carrier Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Provided the system is not modified in any way without our knowledge and express permission, I'd be glad to let you look at what's gone wrong with the applicaion :)
     
  12. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks :)

    If/When you do need to open a ticket, just make it very clear what you want: look but don't modify.
     
Loading...

Share This Page