easyapache3 removing AddHandler from .htaccess

s_rage

Member
Jan 4, 2005
5
0
151
Greetings, having a strange problem after running easyapache -- the .htaccess files in certain accounts are getting the "AddHandler" line automatically commented out. This has happened on two different servers. Not all of the .htaccess files are affected either. It happened to only one account (of about 30) on the first server, and two accounts (of about 50) on the second.

Can anyone shed some insight on this?
 

cPanelKenneth

cPanel Development
Staff member
Apr 7, 2006
4,607
79
458
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Adjust the value for the following tweak setting:

The maximum number of directories deep to look for .htaccess files when doing .htaccess checks. Can be from 0 to 100. 2 is the default setting. Values higher than this are discouraged.
 

s_rage

Member
Jan 4, 2005
5
0
151
Thanks for the response, but I don't see how the setting you mention has anything to do with my problem.

Let me clarify, in case I wasn't specific enough in my initial post:

All of my accounts have this line in their .htaccess:
AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .html

I ran easyapache, and when it completed that line was commented in out in one account's .htaccess:
# AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .html

The .htaccess files for all my other accounts were unchanged.
 

cPanelKenneth

cPanel Development
Staff member
Apr 7, 2006
4,607
79
458
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
When the PHP handler is changed, the system is scanned for .htacess files that contain AddHandler entries. Ones that define an entry for handling PHP are commented out. This is done to prevent conflicts and other handling issues.

To modify this behavior, change the tweak setting I mentioned in my prior post.
 

rhenderson

Well-Known Member
Apr 21, 2005
778
2
168
Oklahoma
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
When the PHP handler is changed, the system is scanned for .htacess files that contain AddHandler entries. Ones that define an entry for handling PHP are commented out. This is done to prevent conflicts and other handling issues.

To modify this behavior, change the tweak setting I mentioned in my prior post.
I thought that was the case, which is why I had asked if he had changed his to SuPhp.