The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Edit DNS Zone taking 30 seconds + to load

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by graham_w, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. graham_w

    graham_w Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm noticing when I click on Edit DNS Zone, Selecting a Domain to edit or saving a domain after editing it is taking upwards of 30 seconds for the page to load/save. All other pages in WHM load very quickly.

    I have 3 clustered servers in different locations all running R16908, and all showing the same problem. There are only 620+ zones.

    Anyone else experiencing the same ?
     
  2. graham_w

    graham_w Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've just noticed that any zone changes are only being saved locally and not synced to the other servers. Possible the above fault is linked to this ?

    Have logged a ticket with cPanel to investigate.
     
  3. serv_co_za

    serv_co_za Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South africa
    Having the same problem here, Any one found a possible fix for this ?
     
  4. serv_co_za

    serv_co_za Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South africa
    I don`t know if this would / should solve a problem for anyone else but I've added port 2086 to my APF outbound rules and it solved my issue.

    1. Make sure Dnsonly is running latest build.
    2. Make sure port 2086 is allowed for outbound on local machine connect to cluster.

    Hope this helps any one.
     
    #4 serv_co_za, Sep 9, 2007
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2007
  5. HostNine.Com

    HostNine.Com Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Okay

    Upgrade DNSONLY to the latest version
    DNSONLY
    11.11.0-DNSONLY_16942
    (Sun Sep 9 22:12:58 2007)

    ASAP

    It will fix the issue. There was a problem on the old build with a compiled binary which they resolved in the new version.
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'd also recommend updating all boxes in the cluster to CURRENT as well. RELEASE should get the improved dnsonly support in 48 or less hours.
     
  7. graham_w

    graham_w Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm not running DNSOnly on any of the boxes, all cPanel 11. I will upgrade to Current though to see if it helps.
     
  8. graham_w

    graham_w Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I can confirm upgrading to C16942 resolves the issue. I didn't make any changes to the outbound firewall ports.
     
  9. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    We were having this issue also and a upcp did solve the trick. Can someone tell me if this just affected DNS clustering / account creating etc or did this slow down all dns functions on the server (like dns resolution).

    Thanks,

    Frank
     
Loading...

Share This Page