The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

edit domain.db manually - how to sync changes ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 4u123, Aug 15, 2007.

  1. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've had to make changes to a load of zone files manually - can you suggest how I would synchronise these changes to the cluster?
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Main >> DNS Functions >> Synchronize DNS Records

    That will let you force a sync.
     
  3. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm not sure that will work.

    Can you confirm that it will ignore the serial ? Wont it check for the newest records based on the serial and update all servers based on that ? Obviousley I need to be 100% sure of this.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should update the serial when you make changes. It's a "best practice".
     
  5. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I had to update 100 zone files using replace because the nameservers were set incorrectly. I didnt manually edit each one.

    Is there no way of doing this apart from editing each one individually ? Surely there must be!
     
  6. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    You can use the replace to update the Nameservers and then update the serial for all the domains by running the following command. Just input the serial that you want to add:

     
Loading...

Share This Page