The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Edit File with Text Editor: what encoding won't mess with contractions?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by escapevelocity, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. escapevelocity

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Something changed in the last few days in cPanel, editing an HTML file with the text editor now changes contractions to this:

    Former: I'm Now: I'm

    This happens with the encoding I used to use, plus a bunch of others. I don't want to have to try out 50 possiblities to find the one that works ok - assuming that any of them do.

    I'm trying to edit an HTML file.

    Can anyone tell me what encoding won't do this?

    Thanks for your time.
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please open a ticket to my attention @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/


    (ATTN: Nick)
     
  3. escapevelocity

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I appreciate your reply. I don't know half the information that's asked for on that form, my cPanel came with my hosting package. Sooooo, I guess that's who I should be asking for support, according to the instructions on the ticket page. Thanks very much though. :)
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please ask your provider to open a ticket with us to my attention and I will look into it ASAP.

    Thanks
     
  5. escapevelocity

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just to follow up, my provider could not replicate the problem. So whatever's going on, apparently it's just going on for me - me and my haunted laptop. (So... I apologize for blaming cPanel.)

    If I open an HTML file in cPanel's HTML editor, it's fine. If I open it in the text editor, I get the ' instead of an apostrophe.

    If anyone should happen to read this and know why, please tell me! Otherwise, I guess I had better learn how to use the HTML editor.

    Thanks very much for all your help!
    ------------------

    Oops spoke too soon - my provider was using Firefox; when he tried it in IE 7 (which I use), he got the same problem.
     
    #5 escapevelocity, Dec 10, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2008
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No big deal, he is still welcome to submit a support ticket to us if he hasn't done so already.
     
  7. Victoriana

    Victoriana Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the exact same problem. The folks that provide my webhosting haven't been able to help me. They keep saying that they don't see the "syntax error" message at the bottom left corner when visiting my pages. (they must be using firefox or something). I use I.E. and I see it every time I visit the pages that were recently edited (today). This is a new problem. Everything was fine the last time I edited in Text Editor (Legacy File Manager).

    p.s...I am unable to use Html Editor due to some troubles I've had in the past with it. My Webhost suggested that I switch over to using "edit". It has worked perfectly until now.

    Something has changed in the Legacy File Manager over the past few days. I hope things can get fixed soon.

    I've tried to change my character encoding to iso 8859-1....but it hasn't fixed the problem.

    The "syntax error" is still popping up whenever I visit these 2 particular (recently edited) pages on my site. All other pages are fine. I'm afraid to edit any of them because I know that they will end up with error messages too.....

    Help me, please....
     
    #7 Victoriana, Dec 10, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2008
  8. escapevelocity

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mine was helpful but had no idea why it was happening. I don't know if he filed a support ticket.

    Maybe someone on the cPanel staff can try replicating it on their own site? Just upload a plain HTML file with contractions on it - can't won't shouldn't etc. - and then open it with the text editor, using IE7.

    (I'm having a hard time getting the hang of the HTML editor as well, Victoriana.)
     
  9. cPanelCory

    cPanelCory Developer - cPanel Security Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    This issue has been addressed in the latest builds of CURRENT/EDGE, please run /scripts/upcp --force to get the latest build.

    Thank you,
     
  10. Victoriana

    Victoriana Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not quite sure I understand how to get the "latest build". To my knowledge, my webhosting provider only offers File Manager and Legacy File Manager. I'm not sure about this current/edge thing. What is it? I am a bit of a geek when it comes to this stuff. I'm great with general text editing/html and don't want to work with anything that is more complicated.

    Is c-panel planning to fix this new problem with their Text Editor in the Legacy File Manager? I truly, truly hope so.
     
  11. cPanelCory

    cPanelCory Developer - cPanel Security Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    CURRENT and EDGE are specific builds of cPanel itself. You can ask your webhosting provider to please upgrade WHM/cPanel to the latest version of CURRENT, and this will fix your issue with the File Manager.

    When you request this from your provider, you can point them to this thread, they should know what to do to get the lastest builds, and if they have any questions or need any assistance they can submit a support request and we can assist them in getting your server up to date with the fix.

    https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/
     
  12. Victoriana

    Victoriana Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you. I just sent my provider an email with your instructions.

    With this new "build", will I still be able to use the same old Legacy File Manager? Will it still be just as easy to use? Will it still look the same?
     
  13. escapevelocity

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My provider ran it, and everything is back to normal. I can use Legacy Text Edit again.

    By the way he said he did not see it in the changelog.
     
  14. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The changelog is typically updated 24-72 hours after the build is published as it has to be done manually after the fact.
     
Loading...

Share This Page