Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Edit httpd.conf to remove a deleted account?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mcdeee, Nov 21, 2017.

  1. mcdeee

    mcdeee Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey all,

    I'm running WHM v68.0.15 on CENTOS 7.4. It's got stuff like EasyApache 4 installed.

    I deleted/terminated an account recently as it threw an error while it was being created, and I wanted to make sure it was a clean install (i.e. do it again).

    However, I evidently can't simply create it again; it's telling me that I need to edit httpd.conf to remove the existing entry for this domain.

    I know there are other posts with this exact issue, but the answers skip too many steps for me (slightly too advanced). I need a bit more specific information. What's the easiest way to get this done?

    Many thanks,
    James
     
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Firstly, you can take backup of your httpd conf file and then you can just remove the entry of the domain from virtual host entry and restart HTTPD.

    It should work.
     
  3. mcdeee

    mcdeee Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, I removed all of its entries manually, and now when I go to create the account I get a different error:

    Account Creation Status: failed
    (XID k7vbw8) “****” already controls the domain name “www.*****.com”. (I've removed for privacy).

    I don't understand – when you select "Terminate account", shouldn't it remove everything for me??
     
  4. mcdeee

    mcdeee Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've gone and removed all of the domain/username instances I can find on the server, but it still doesn't work. I note that under Edit MX record in WHM, the domain is still mentioned. No idea how to delete this.
     
  5. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Under MX record can you please provide the screenshot so that I can have a check.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,700
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Check to ensure it's DNS zone is also removed. EX:

    Code:
    /scripts/killdns $domain.tld
    If the issue persists, let us know the output from /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log when creating the account.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page