The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Edit httpd.conf

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by looloo, Mar 6, 2006.

  1. looloo

    looloo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    How I Can Edit httpd.conf in WHM ?

    plz help me
     
  2. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can't

    You will have to use a ssh client and login to the server as root and use vi, pico etc to edit the httpd.conf
     
  3. looloo

    looloo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Plz tell me more.

    how i can use SSH to edit httpd.conf ?

    i want to setup Wildcard DNS
     
  4. pross

    pross Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    u have to edit httpd.conf and add *.domain.com to your server alias and do the dame to its dnszone..just google httpd.conf and wildcard
     
  5. looloo

    looloo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you

    but i dont know how edit httpd.conf

    plz let me know.

    i dont know any thing from SSH
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you're not sure what you're doing with SSH you probably shouldn't. But there's always Chirpy's File Manager.
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    And I'd recommend reading up how to do basic server admin, the bash prompt and about the apache web server. All of which can be found over at:
    http://www.tldp.org
     
  8. WebzPro

    WebzPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You actually can if you get WHM extra. Nice little tool.
    http://whmxtra.com/
     
  9. xidica

    xidica Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    I find editing a configuration file as extensive as a typical virtual hosting httpd.conf from within a web based GUI utterly and completely disgusting. It's annoying enough that you have to edit exim.conf via the GUI to prevent overwriting of changes. Just my 2 cents.
     
  10. cyberturk

    cyberturk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i recommend it too
     
  11. WebzPro

    WebzPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think you might have a few other issues going on here.. :p
     
  12. hdctest

    hdctest Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So if I want to add a domain to the 'Server Alias' field in httpd.conf, I have to do that via command line? I thought you should be able to do everything via cpanel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page