The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Edit Package Names??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by westside, Mar 29, 2006.

  1. westside

    westside Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have recently bought whois.cart and want to sync this with WHM..only problem is, my existing packages are called for example: 'westside_westside 100' - this package name has a blank space in it, which causes whois.cart not able to read this package.

    How can I change the actual package name to 'westside_100' as I cant seem to do this in the edit packages menu.. come on, someone ought to know :D hehe :cool:

    cheers boys & girls
     
  2. mafitsi

    mafitsi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey, contact your provider to allow you editing packages, you wont be able to edit, until he/she allows you, then you can see the option.

    That i tHink

    take care

    mAfitsi
     
  3. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I dont think one can edit the name of a package from Edit Packages option even if you have logged in as root. I suppose you will have to delete and recreate it.

    Well.. there might a file where we can edit it directly from shell, will look and get back if I find any thing.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You can rename packages by simply renaming the file(s) in /var/cpanel/packages/* if you want accounts to then use that package name you're going to have to do a search & replace for the package in the files in /var/cpanel/users/*
     
  5. salubrium

    salubrium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Chirpy, once again your knowledge is extremely helpful. This saved me a lot of time grepping and finding the files I need to modify for 10 packages.. and a heap of time it would have taken if I had to recreate the packages.

    Thanks as always...


    --> a Happy Chirpy customer <---
     
  6. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Chirpy,
    I just wanted to say thanks as well. This has allowed me to script my package distribution to all of my servers.
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Glad it's of help :)
     
  8. djblamire

    djblamire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    On a similar note, I am trying to change the 'setup date' quoted for an account - which is in the same file.

    However, I don't seem to be able to recognise the format in which the date is stored, and how to work out what to change it to.

    eg, it is currently showing as 1171624380

    Any ideas ?

    Thanks
    Daniel
     
  9. djblamire

    djblamire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've just worked it out - It is a unix timestamp.

    Thanks
    Daniel
     
  10. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    unix time stamp

    yup - thats it

    I often got slammed by the unix time stamp when pulling in records to place into an excel spreadsheet

    man I hate that :)

    have a good one
    :)
     
  11. mr5

    mr5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I don't know why after change the files' name, I still see the old packages when I click Upgrade/Downgrade an account (but don't see old packages anywhere elese)? Anyone has the same problem?

    Regards,
     
Loading...

Share This Page