The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Editing BFD "Sensitivity"?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Boriskag, Apr 22, 2006.

1. Boriskag

Boriskag Well-Known Member

Hi. I've been using cPanel for about a week and a half and it's a huge leap forward compared to what I used to use (VHCS). I'm not that experienced in Linux, but I can pretty much follow instructions to complete a task.

Anyways, one of the main reasons why I did all the upgrades was for security reasons. VHCS gets hacked in about 2 seconds by 12 year olds, thats how bad it is. Now using cPanel and Brute Force Detector + APF, I've got around 10 or 12 ips in the deny_hosts file of hack attempts on SSH and FTP.

I'm glade that it caught all the hack attempts, but it usually ends up being a huge list of attempts over a prolonged beriod of time. Just last night, I blocked someone trying to login to ftp using the name "Administrator" 17 times.

Anyways, before I start rambling on again, lemme get to the point of this post. :rolleyes:

I searched the forums several times and did an extensive search on google just to find how to install BFD and APF, what I want to try and do is to set BFD's "detector" to be very sensitive, say 5 wrong passwords in 10 minutes or even 20 minutes. (All the hacked attempts I get are usually attempted logins in 1 or 2 minutes intervals).

I also remeber reading about something about a Dictionary Word Detector (I forgot what it's called) Is that any good?

And here are the list of ips I have in my denied list.
    (I checked a few of them, not all, but I think they are all from Turkey.)

#1 Boriskag, Apr 22, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2006
  2. brianoz

brianoz Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator