The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

editing PHP conf from WHM - 500 Errors every website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by victomeyezr, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. victomeyezr

    victomeyezr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    [RESLOVED]editing PHP conf from WHM - 500 Errors every website

    I am curious what would cause WHM to corrupt the php.ini file just on this one server, so that if we edit the file from WHM, it will Error 500 every website. I am guessing the WHM stores its own copy for that function somewhere, but how can we fix it?
     
    #1 victomeyezr, Jun 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2011
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you on 11.28 rather than 11.30 for your cPanel version? If so, then there were a couple of internal cases about the WHM > PHP Configuration Editor adding duplicate lines that could corrupt the php.ini file. This should be fixed in cPanel 11.30 versions, though.

    To regenerate a new php.ini, you can do the following:

    Code:
    mv /usr/local/lib/php.ini /usr/local/lib/php.ini.bak110610
    /scripts/phpini
    You can then run a diff on the two php.ini files to see the results:

    Code:
    diff /usr/local/lib/php.ini /usr/local/lib/php.ini.bak110610
     
  3. victomeyezr

    victomeyezr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We have since upgraded to 11.30 from 11.28, but have been afraid to test it, as I don't really like taking 250 websites to Internal 500 errors.
    I guess its time to test.
     
  4. victomeyezr

    victomeyezr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok, you are correct. The upgrade fixed that issue. Sorry for wasting your time, I just wanted a few ideas before I tried it.

    Thanks
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No worries, glad to hear that the 11.30 upgrade did correct those cases!
     
Loading...

Share This Page