Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

editing PHP conf from WHM - 500 Errors every website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by victomeyezr, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. victomeyezr

    victomeyezr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    [RESLOVED]editing PHP conf from WHM - 500 Errors every website

    I am curious what would cause WHM to corrupt the php.ini file just on this one server, so that if we edit the file from WHM, it will Error 500 every website. I am guessing the WHM stores its own copy for that function somewhere, but how can we fix it?
     
    #1 victomeyezr, Jun 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2011
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,609
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you on 11.28 rather than 11.30 for your cPanel version? If so, then there were a couple of internal cases about the WHM > PHP Configuration Editor adding duplicate lines that could corrupt the php.ini file. This should be fixed in cPanel 11.30 versions, though.

    To regenerate a new php.ini, you can do the following:

    Code:
    mv /usr/local/lib/php.ini /usr/local/lib/php.ini.bak110610
    /scripts/phpini
    You can then run a diff on the two php.ini files to see the results:

    Code:
    diff /usr/local/lib/php.ini /usr/local/lib/php.ini.bak110610
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. victomeyezr

    victomeyezr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    We have since upgraded to 11.30 from 11.28, but have been afraid to test it, as I don't really like taking 250 websites to Internal 500 errors.
    I guess its time to test.
     
  4. victomeyezr

    victomeyezr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    ok, you are correct. The upgrade fixed that issue. Sorry for wasting your time, I just wanted a few ideas before I tried it.

    Thanks
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,609
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No worries, glad to hear that the 11.30 upgrade did correct those cases!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice