Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Editing php.ini file in Cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sumittyagi, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. sumittyagi

    sumittyagi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I just uploaded my first project to Cpanel. My Php project needs to send the email, and for that I need to edit the php.ini file to open the SSL connection. Please help me in editing the PHP.ini file.

    Thanks
     
  2. PlatinumServerM

    PlatinumServerM Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. sumittyagi

    sumittyagi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    How can I go to this location in Cpanel. I cannot see /usr/local.. in File manager, and I tried to do it from the ssh, but on ssh screen, when I type my username and password, nothing happens.
    Any idea???

     
  4. JPC-Martin

    JPC-Martin Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    You may need to request your hosting support in order to make these changes for you if you do not have root access.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sumittyagi

    sumittyagi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
  6. chinmay

    chinmay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, you can only if the server is a suphp/suexec server. You will need to ask your hosting provider to copy the original php.ini under your hosting account so that you can make the changes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. InstaCarma_Tech

    InstaCarma_Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    If you do not have 'root' access to the server then get your host to provide/copy the contents of the server php.ini so that you can create a custom php.ini . Just make the changes to the required variables.
    Note that you have to place this custom php.ini the exact folder where you need the changes to take effect.
    For example, if you place the 'php.ini' in your public_html folder then it would NOT be effective for a sub-folder under it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. sumittyagi

    sumittyagi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Thank for your answers and your time. I have got the root acess. Ok to run the program on my local machine i edit the php.ini and uncomment the line that says
    extension=php_openssl.dll

    How can I uncomment this line in cpanel after getting the root acess.
    Any help is highly appreciated

     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice