Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Email accounts management

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by messierjulie, Mar 25, 2019.

1. messierjulie

messierjulie Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello everyone!
    I'm new to Cpanel and need your help in order to control properly of my client's Cpanel. I'm helping a nonprofit to get things sorted and I discovered weird things in the Cpanel email accounts department.

Basically, there is a ton of different email accounts set up and even more forwarders but in reality, we currently only need a few of them.

So here are some of my main questions :
    - After an employee leaves the company, when do you delete this person's email account?

- What happens to that account once it's deleted? Can we still have access to archived emails?

- I currently set up forwarders so I can manage the emails coming from many of those account in one inbox, but now I realize that the emails are still coming in the inboxes of said accounts... So all the time I'm taking to delete and sort needs to be done in 2 accounts... What to do here!?!

Thank you so much in advance for your help!
    Julie

2. cPanelLauren

cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @messierjulie

We don't delete any accounts, that's up to the administrator of the account to manage. You'd need to speak to your provider or the non-profit to work the details of that out.

When an account is removed/deleted all the data associated with it is also removed. If you need records of emails within an email account you would need to obtain them from backups.