Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

eMail Bouncing and cPanel Administration

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Bubba5on, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. Bubba5on

    Bubba5on Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,

    I'm fairly new to cPanel, but not faily new to IT and technology. So my question may be semi-noob.

    I'm having problems with emails being bounced due to exceeded limit (which helpfully is set to 1 per hour). MAX_EMAIL_PER_HOUR=1

    I know from searching the forums that this value can be set to 0 to remove the restriction, or increased to enable more emails per hour, but for the life of me I can't find out where to set this!

    From other Forum posts it says that the setting can be changed in the cPanel Server Settings, but in my cPanel there is no server settings option (I'm logged in as ipostmeu).

    Can someone point me in the right direction please? I raised support tickets over a week ago and got no reply from support.

    Thanks
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    HI @Bubba5on

    This limit can be raised by you would need to be able to access WHM to do so. Do you have root access to the server and with whom did you open a support ticket, if it was with us can you please provide a Ticket ID so I can take a look at the ticket in our system as well.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Bubba5on

    Bubba5on Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi Lauren,

    I opened the account - Removed - and a paid subscription for the year. I believe I do have root access (I can FTP to root backup etc and access the root through file manager). As for WHM access, sorry but I've no idea how to access that.

    The ticket I opened is #566237 - eMail Non Delivery Error.

    Seems this is a simple problem problem to raise MAX PER HOUR, I just need to know how to do it :D

    Thanks
     
    #3 Bubba5on, Jun 13, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2018
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Bubba5on


    In order to access WHM you'd need to know the root password, if this is the case you do indeed have root access

    Typically you can reach WHM by going to one of the following URL's:
    Code:
    https://host.name.tld:2087
    yourdomain.com/whm
    https://YourIPHere:2087
    Ok, based on the ticket ID, I would assume this is your provider's ticket system which isn't associated with cPanel.

    It is simple, it's just a matter of access. You can modify this in the following places:

    WHM>>Server Configuration>>Tweak Settings -> Max Hourly emails per domain

    This can also be set in some other places and you may want to look at the following as well:
    WHM>>Packages>>Edit a Package -> Maximum Hourly Email by Domain Relayed

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Bubba5on

    Bubba5on Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    ok, so making a little progress.

    I tried to log into WHM, but got an error (authentication) so I created a cPanel account.

    Now, when I try to log into WHM I get the following error:
    Your account “[Redacted]” is not associated with an existing “WHM” account. Please log in to connect the account.

    I can't log into WHM. How do I link the accounts?

    Thanks
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Bubba5on

    You won't be able to log in with a cPanel account. You'd need to use root and the password associated with root. If you don't have this but you should, this is something your provider would have to give you.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Bubba5on

    Bubba5on Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Sorry for being thick Lauren, but what I'm not getting is:

    1. When I log into my domain, I log into a cPanel account and have all the management tools there.
    2. When I try to log into WHM - Removed - it gives me an option to log in either using a WHM login or a cPanel login. Using cPanel tells me the cPanel account isn't linked to WHM.

    I may be being totally thick here, but why give me the option to use (an unlinked) cPanel login, only to tell me to go away and ask someone else for a root login?

    :Head meet Wall:

    I know you're trying to be helpful Lauren, but an explanation in plain english would save me an entire evening trying to change 1 permater (MAX PER HOUR 1) that shouldn't even be there in the first place! I mean, who sends 1 email per hour nowadays??
     
    #7 Bubba5on, Jun 13, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2018
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    HI @Bubba5on

    I'm sorry for the lack of clarification and not being as clear as I could be.

    There are two sides to the software, one is cPanel the account level administration the other is WHM for server level administration. You can access WHM with the root user, and in some cases, you can use a reseller as well (pending you've created one). The issue with a reseller account is that depending on the privileges assigned to them their access is limited.

    Since you noted that you created an account you must have access to WHM - how did you do that, through what interface? I think knowing where you're going to create an account will be helpful to explain to you how to change this.

    I have no idea but this isn't a default setting so whoever set the server up must have modified this. o_O
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Bubba5on

    Bubba5on Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I log in via my service portal, and click a menu shortcut to 'Log into cPanel' This log's me in with a session cookie so the cPanel control panel.

    "Since you noted that you created an account you must have access to WHM - how did you do that, through what interface?"

    In the control panel, there's tools to all of the typical server administration items, user, email account tools, file browser (seems to take me to root because I see all the usual .<foldernames>) as well as the Database, Website tools etc. There is no reference at all to Server configuration or WHM.

    When I browse to the WHM url, same URL as cPanel although port 2087 instead of 2083, this is where I run into problems because I rejects my cPanel login (even though it gives me an option to use one) and gives me no option to create a WHM login. Trying to use cPanel login to log into WHM gives me the error, saying accounts aren't linked.

    Quote of the day [If there's one thing to guarantee in life, humans will over-complicate things and break simple technology!] :)
     
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Do you have anything that references something like "Modify an Account" ?

    Based on this and the quote above I'm thinking that your provider has given you reseller access but limited you to cPanel then customized the cPanel interface to allow some server administration tasks. The more I learn about the configuration the more I believe you may need to speak to them about modifying this and the proper way to modify the max email setting with the customizations that have been made.

    No joke! :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Bubba5on

    Bubba5on Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    [Looks heavenward, praying for a simple solution]

    Off to the reseller it is then although, as noted in my original post, they;ve not responded to 2 tickets in a week so far.

    Thanks for your patience Lauren :)
     
  12. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Bubba5on

    I'm so sorry they haven't responded and that I can't help you better. Maybe you could take a screenshot of the UI that you see and I can let you know if any of those options may lead you in the right direction?


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Bubba5on

    Bubba5on Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Screenshot attached (which is the confusing bit) because it's a cPanel portal.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Bubba5on

    Yea that looks like a pretty standard cPanel UI and you won't be able to change the setting through cPanel. The only way you'd be able to make those changes is if you had access to WHM and if your cPanel account user doesn't have reseller access and if you don't know the root password you won't be able to change that until you can speak to your provider.

    I am really sorry and I hope they get back to you soon.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice