The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Email Inbox Quota Issue

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by nerdzoll, May 12, 2008.

  1. nerdzoll

    nerdzoll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi All,
    I am having an issue on one of my servers. It is running CPANEL 11 (latest RELEASE), and CENTOS 5.

    Any time I attempt to create a mailbox quota greater than 2048MB the quota in programs like Thunderbird and Roundcube show that I only have a ~950MB quota and emails stop being accepted for that account.

    I am wondering if anyone faces the same issue. I have only ever had 4 Cpanel Servers in my life, all Centos' two VPSs and 2 not VPSs.

    Does anyone else see the issue if they create a new email account and set a quota of 3096MB?
    Cheers
    Stuart
     
  2. webstyler

    webstyler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the same problem :(

    If quota setting is < 2000 or unlimited no problem
    If is over 2000 there are issue

    Any suggest ?

    Tx
     
  3. sphen

    sphen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i observed the same thing when i set up two cpanel servers months ago... 2047 good - 2048 bad...

    i found that everything did continue to work if you gave the user who needed more space an unlimited quota- but the user was just never able to see how much of their quota they were using... ugh.

    was hoping one of these updates would address it but not yet.
     
  4. FreedomBI

    FreedomBI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That sounds like a 32bit overflow problem. Is your server 32bit or 64bit?

    I just tried it on my server, which is Centos 5.2 64bit. I set a quota to 3000MB, and it showed up correctly as 2.93GB.
     
  5. sphen

    sphen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    looks like it a dual - quad-core xeon L5320 with centos-4-x86....

    maybe a 64 bit version of the system has not been specifically installed?

    and also - when you say you see the quota properly is that from an imap client?
     
  6. FreedomBI

    FreedomBI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I hadn't checked via IMAP before. I just checked in Roundcube, and it reports 5MB (154MB/2.9GB), so that looks good.

    You can check how your machine was setup with 'uname -m'. If it says, for example, i686 instead of x86_64, then you have a 32-bit setup. The only way to change this is to reinstall. Of course, depending on where exactly this problem exists, there may also be a workaround.
     
  7. sphen

    sphen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    arghh.. well thats it - i686... maybe ill contact who is in charge of the install on the server and see what their thoughts are. thanks!
     
  8. webstyler

    webstyler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    also for me say
    i686
    :(

    any workaround instead reinstall ?

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page