The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

email not being sent

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by dgr00s, May 31, 2003.

  1. dgr00s

    dgr00s Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i think at some point in setup my dns got mucked up. my users can receive mail however they cannot send. it just gets stopped at my server and im at a loss. ive searched and search but cant find anything. this is whats spit out at me.

    SMTP<< 220 fed1mtai10.cox.net ESMTP server (InterMail vM.5.01.04.05 201-253-122-122-105-20011231) ready Sat, 31 May 2003 15:39:18 -0400
    SMTP>> EHLO mybox.domain.com
    SMTP<< 250-fed1mtai10.cox.net
    250-HELP
    250-XREMOTEQUEUE
    250-ETRN
    250-PIPELINING
    250-DSN
    250-8BITMIME
    250 SIZE 5242880
    SMTP>> MAIL FROM: SIZE=1453
    SMTP>> RCPT TO:
    SMTP>> DATA
    SMTP<< 450 Unable to find mybox.domain.com
    SMTP<< 503 Bad sequence of commands (specify MAIL first)
    SMTP<< 503 No sender specified
    LOG: 0 MAIN
    SMTP error from remote mailer after MAIL FROM: SIZE=1453: host mx.west.cox.net [68.6.19.3]: 450 Unable to find mybox.domain.com
    SMTP>> QUIT

    any help is greatly appreciated.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 dgr00s, May 31, 2003
    Last edited: May 31, 2003
  2. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try going to http://www.dnsstuff.com and enter the real value for mybox.mydomain.com in the DNS lookup box and see what it says

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. dgr00s

    dgr00s Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when i look up the a record i get the following:

    roos.roosnet.com. A IN 14400 207.99.34.22 roosnet.com. NS IN 14400 ns1.roosnet.com. roosnet.com. NS IN 14400 ns2.roosnet.com. ns1.roosnet.com. A IN 14400 207.99.34.22 ns2.roosnet.com. A IN 14400 207.99.34.23

    when i look up the mx record it says i have none.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmm is it specfic to cox.net or in general, can you mail roosnet@johnsportal.com and see if you get a autoresponse back

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. dgr00s

    dgr00s Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i guess it is cox.net. i sent an email to, the addy you provided, yahoo, one on the same server, and my work email. they all went through except for the cox.net addy.

    thanks again

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    They could be rejecting based on the fact your ip doesn't resolve back to roos.roosnet.com

    e.g.

    four@void [~]# host roos.roosnet.com
    roos.roosnet.com has address 207.99.34.22
    four@void [~]# host 207.99.34.22
    Host 22.34.99.207.in-addr.arpa not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
    four@void [~]#

    However that sort of thing takes out a large amount of legitmate mail as well (as you have discovered) best bet would be to bug your provider/host/dc/whatever to setup rdns for your ip

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. dgr00s

    dgr00s Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i emailed my provider and asked them to setup a ptr record. hopefully that will solve it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. xayk

    xayk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How can I make exim4 open relay until the problem is fixed?
    (i don't think that bugging all the providers will make our customers happy, we need a solution quick, even if thats not a permanent solution)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #8 xayk, Jun 20, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2003
Loading...

Share This Page