The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Email Transfer Problem Migrating from Ensim to Cpanel

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by tharani, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. tharani

    tharani Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    I tried to tranfer some domains from ensim to Cpanel 9.9.9 R-10 and the script converted all email user of ensim into ftp users. the email also stop storing into mailbox and started disapearing.


    Any help will be appreciated as I have to move my all domains from ensim to cpanel (more than 200).


    Ramzan Ali Tharani
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    can u try that after converting the C-panel release to the latest stable one. i have not come across with a problem with it.
     
  3. tharani

    tharani Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tried on 9.9.9 -S15 and 9.9.8-S6 same problem.

    Any other method to migrate.

    Ramzan Ali
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    either u will have to do that manually or using the function at C-panel. Else you will have to first get the directory structure at ensim and then make it to at cpanel.

    i can sure give this a try if you would like.
     
  5. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    I found that after adding a new mailbox in cpanel, the other mailboxes then showed up..

    This was on 9.9.9 -S15 (stable)
     
  6. jchavezb

    jchavezb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I also had the same problem after a transfer and by adding a new account, the others showed up in Cpanel and the users were able to login to horde and squirrelmail.

    However, it seems they are now only able to send email and are not receiving any. Pls see my post:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?p=165312#post165312
     
  7. naveen3

    naveen3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,
    i am using WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.0.0-R85

    when i try to "Copy an account from another server"
    from ensim 3.1 server
    i am getting this message -


    Copying pkgacct-enXim script.....0%.. ..100%.. ...Done
    Setting permissions on pkgacct-enXim script... Done
    Unable to chmod script

    and i am not able to move.

    Any Luck ?
    -Nav
     
  8. blweb

    blweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am getting the same error. Did you fix this? How did you move your accounts? I'm specifically concerned with email accounts. Does anybody know how to move email accounts if everything is done manually - or does anyone have a "move process" that works?

    Thanks.

    -Tai
     
  9. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    Tai - I had to manually modify the passwd files for each site after moving them. also, add a new mailbox and then the other mailboxes will show up in cpanel. Contact me privately if you need more help.
     
  10. JamesCTotalWeb

    JamesCTotalWeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have root log-in blocked?

    I had this very same error and found that if I allowed root log-in on both servers it would work. The only problem I have now is on some data bases that are set up by Power Tools on the Ensim server seems to break when moved over to the cPanel server.

    Anyways try allowing root log-ins and see if it helps.

    Good Luck and happy cPaneling ..... :D
     
  11. blweb

    blweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I wonder how I enable root login on the Ensim Server. I am transferring a friends sites that are on Ensim onto our Cpanel server. He had surgery and needs assistance with it and I don't use Ensim (which is of course why we have cpanel).

    I am guessing then that the chmod problem is on the other server and not mine.

    -Tai
     
  12. JamesCTotalWeb

    JamesCTotalWeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    edit /etc/ssh/sshd_config

    look for a line like this " PermitRootLogin no "

    change it to this #PermitRootLogin yes

    then restart SSH

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/sshd restart

    when you are done just edit the file again and change it back and restart SSH again.
     
  13. blweb

    blweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That worked like a charm to get things moving. Now I have to figure out why it all failed :confused: If it's not one thing it's another...haha. HEre is what happens when I copy an account. It appears to go through, then I get some errors in the middle about not being able to stat files or folders. And it appears to keep motttling through it, then at the end I get "Invalaid Account" It doesn't say it's an error....it doesn't say anything. When I go to look at the new account, I can't access it's cpanel or the ~webpage. HEre is my output. Pardon the length please.

     
  14. JamesCTotalWeb

    JamesCTotalWeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is the site listed in WHM?

    I seen these errors too but the site was there I had to eidt the site and set it up with one of the preconfigured packages once I did that then the cPanel and ~username worked ..... these errors were also the same ones that I had that broke the PostNuke data base .... I dont think cPanel likes some of the stuff Ensim sets up ...... lol
     
  15. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    Those errors look fairly minor, it is probably safe to ignore them. I got similar errors when I did my transfers.
     
  16. blweb

    blweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok - For anybody who might be looking to do this, here is what I have to do to get accounts over correctly. I skipped steps 1 and 2 b/c they don't relate to anybody but me.

    Code:
    3.	Transfer account files using WHM transfer function.  In case of errors:
        a.	Account backup has files in: /var/www/html/*
    4.	Truncate usernames to 8 characters or quota will break.
    5.	Force CP rebuild to fix mailboxes
        a.	/scripts/upcp --force
    6.	Transfer MySQL DB’s separately and manually b/c they don't transfer correctly with script.
        a.	On old server: 
                    mysql > show databases;
                    mysqldump databasename > database.sql
                    mysqldump mysql > mysql_privs.sql
                    tar –czvf ensim_databases.tar.gz *.sql
                    copy tarball over to new server
        b.	On new server:
                    check config files for database uname and passwords
                    recreate MySQL DB’s
                    change references to old database name
                    mysql user_database < database.sql
                    import cleaned ‘mysql’ DB:  mysql mysql < mysql.sql
                                      OR
        a.	On old server: 
                    mysql > show databases;
                    mysqldump –all-databases > all-databases.sql
                    tar –czvf ensim_databases.tar.gz *.sql
                    SEPARATE ‘mysql’ DATABSE!!!!!
        b.	On New Server:
                    Prune the ‘mysql’ database to copy only DB privs
                    update DB named in ‘mysql’ DB to username_DBname
                    mysql < all-databases.sql  (BE SURE to exclude the ‘mysql’ DB!!!)
                    rename all DB’s to with cPanel convention: 
                    mv /var/lib/mysql/old_DB_name /var/lib/mysql/new_DB_name
                    import cleaned ‘mysql’ DB:  mysql mysql < mysql.sql
    
    
        c.	If account is backed up through Ensim CP, the databases are located in: /var/lib/mysql/*
    7.	Update configuration files that reference old server path information.
        a.	In new account directory: grep –nr ‘old path’ *
    8.	Test accounts for functionality.
    Anybody know of an easier way to do MySQL DB's?

    -Tai
     
  17. PeterTable

    PeterTable Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    *bump*
    Im also interested in seamless ensim import
     
Loading...

Share This Page