SOLVED Emails are going into spam

craigthomas

Aug 1, 2019
england
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hi

My client is having problems now when most of the emails they are receiving are going into spam. Although this never happened before with regular emails off their customers.

Any help will be greatful

cPanelLauren

Forums Analyst II
Staff member
Nov 14, 2017
Houston
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
More on what @Babene7 mentioned with spam assassin, viewing the headers of the emails that are going to spam would show if SpamAssassin was scoring and what it was scoring them at, they should also be marked as ***SPAM*** if SpamAssassin is scanning them.

craigthomas

Aug 1, 2019
england
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
The spam assassian is disabled so that is not causing the problem. I am new to Cpanel as I have taken on a client and they have used Cpanel for years but dont know how to use it. I am trying to fix a few problems for them. Its just strange why after all the years they have used the emails its only in the past few days that there has been a problem and no changes have been made to the system.

cPanelLauren

Forums Analyst II
Staff member
Nov 14, 2017
Houston
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Hi @craigthomas

Is the client using a mail client such as Outlook or MacMail? In some cases the Mail Client or an Antivirus moves mail once it's received to the local machine. If SpamAssassin is disabled and there are no mail filters on the account this is the next thing I would troubleshoot. One really easy way to troubleshoot whether or not the issue is the mail client is to do the following:

1. Have the client completely close out all mail clients that may be connecting to the server
2. Go to cPanel>>Email>>Email Accounts -> Manage and change the password - DO NOT update the mail client.