The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EMERGENCY IP RE-NUMBERING... NEED SOME INFO

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cbingham, Feb 13, 2002.

  1. cbingham

    cbingham Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Hey Guys,

    We are going to be doing some emergency IP re-numbering on Saturday night and I need to know what files I have to update with new IPs for my current clients

    I know I have to update the bind zone files, and httpd.conf but I am not sure about mail, ftp and cpanel specific files.

    I really need your help so any ideas would be great. We are running RedHat 7.1 if that is helpful

    Also by changing the system IP, will that update all of the info for our current name-based hosting clients, or will it need to be done manually???

    Thanks
     
  2. Craig

    Craig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You will also need to change the proftpd.conf and you will i know for a fact need to contact your cpanel distro. to change the IP for your lience..

    I believe you will need to do the changes manually.... don't hold me to that though..

    Craig
     
  3. cbingham

    cbingham Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Thanks Craig...

    I forgot about the licence...

    I will add proftpd.conf to my list :)
     
  4. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cbingham,

    Very important, I just found out, you need also to change IPs in /etc/domainips !!!
     
  5. cbingham

    cbingham Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Thanks :)

    Bert,

    Thanks for the info... :)

    Our move on Saturday night actually went really smooth, but I appreciate the info.
     
  6. totalufo

    totalufo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm going through the same thing here except getting support from my provider is like pulling teeth from a Velociraptor.
     
  7. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    velociraptors = extinct.

    HENCE IT MUST REALLY BE HARD THEN, as you say.


    ..........Paleontologist mode ending now.......
     
  8. cbingham

    cbingham Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Helpin

    Well if anyone needs any help... let me know... I can explain how it worked for us :)
     
  9. idn

    idn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    [quote:003f80838b][i:003f80838b]Originally posted by cbingham[/i:003f80838b]

    Well if anyone needs any help... let me know... I can explain how it worked for us :)[/quote:003f80838b]


    Please let me know how you did this.

    I modified: httpd.conf, proftpd.conf, edited their zone, and edited /etc/domainips

    Still, If I ping their domain it try's their old IP. any ideas

    Sean
     
  10. cbingham

    cbingham Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Well I did exactly what you said you did, but I just want to make sure you did a couple of things, simple yet easily overlooked.

    1) Did you restart named?
    2) The IP addresses for your Name Server, did they change as well?
    3) Did you have a back up name server
    4) If so did you update the IPs on there as well?
    5) Sometimes u won't see the changes until 3 or 4 hours later depending on the setup so just wait a little while\...
     
  11. idn

    idn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Thanks for the prompt reply

    I did restart BIND (named) proftp, httpd, etc. Also, no I did not change any name servers, just an account.

    I shall wait and see how it goes. WHM LIST account feature shows the IP I changed it to, so i am hoping i did it right.

    thanks
    sean
     

Share This Page