The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Emergency - Server crashes when running easyapache

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by noimad1, Dec 21, 2007.

  1. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, Here is a strange on for you.

    I was running easyapache 3 through the web host manager, and about half way through my server crashed. It wouldn't even respond to php.

    I was able to power cycle it, and it came back online. But now any time i run easyapache the server just locks up right away? It's very strange. I can't even ping it?

    Anyone else have any problems like this?
     
  2. RizyDeWino

    RizyDeWino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Once you get it back online , set the cpanel config on Stable release and then /upcp --force.
    Once done , do easyapache and it should do fine. (Do easyapache from shell instead of gui as in case of any problems you will have better idea of what is going wrong).
     
  3. Bailey

    Bailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    If this continues, notify your data center. It could be a RAM chip going bad.

    :D Bailey
     
  4. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Well I was finally able to get the server back online after doing the easyapache through the command line about 10 times. On the 10th time it finally went through. Other then that it just kept crashing.

    The server has crashed twice since then, so I am thinking it might be a hardware problem at this point.
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It is probably a hardware problem, disk corruption, or some very broken system libraries. Since the easyapache3 compile process uses a lot of cpu time, it will cause the box to heat up. If the machine isn't properly cooled or has bad hardware then it will crash.
     
  6. Bailey

    Bailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I had a box that crashed with every Apache recompile, any extended upcp and then with the mail conversion script... Nick worked on it for a while and he suggested it was probably a hardware issue... he was smack dab on the money :D it was a bad RAM chip. We had the RAM swapped out and she ran smooth as glass after that.

    :D Bailey
     
  7. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Well unfortunately the datacenter did a complete memory and hard drive test and they all came back good. Then 2 hours after they did their test the server crashed again (not while I was doing a recompile this time).

    There is something definately wrong..just need to figure out what...
     
  8. Bailey

    Bailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Have them swap the RAM, regardless of whatever their tests show. ;)

    :D Bailey
     
  9. DJ XtAzY

    DJ XtAzY Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What is your system configuration? I have the same problem where it couldnt get past compiling php on an AMD X2 3800+ machine in 64bit CentOS. I switched to Intel Core2Duo and it compiled fine.
     
  10. Giest

    Giest Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry for interupting,

    I have the same problem with easyapache3. my server running well until today I try to add php gd support using easyapache3 (I don't know why it change to easyapache3, my cpanel config still using stable version) and now my apache server cannot start anymore. searching the forum for solution but no luck.

    I'm not sure if it is hardware problem because everything was ok when I'm using old buildapache. Couple week ago when I have the same problem, ticket request was sent and apache and PHP back to normal after someone from cpanel fix it.

    ----------

    sorry for my poor english..
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    EasyApache 3 has been in STABLE for a couple of weeks now.
     
Loading...

Share This Page